MENU
The page content begins here

Historical Seismology & Paleoseismology

Historical Seismology & Paleoseismology

Data on earlier earthquakes provide important information for anticipatory mitigation measures and enable us to pinpoint where events occurred and estimate their magnitude. Damaging powerful earthquakes are relatively rare in Switzerland, so no instrumental data on them are available yet. Consequently, we have to draw on chronicles from the past, analyse this information using historical methods, and use palaeoseismological methods to interpret geological traces of major earthquakes.

Illustration: An earthquake map of Switzerland (1880–1909) drawn in 1911 by Johann Jakob Früh, who chaired the Swiss Earthquake Commission at the time.

Reconstructing Past Earthquakes

Reconstructing past earthquakes is not merely of historical interest, because the knowledge gained from this work serves provides a useful basis for assessing the seismic hazard faced by a region and, to cite but one example, provides useful input on the amplification of earth tremors caused by the nature of the local geological underground.

In 1999, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) set up the sub-discipline 'historical seismology' to verify the reliability of information stemming from historical descriptions of earthquakes. Since then, a multidisciplinary effort by historians, seismologists and database experts has produced a first, revised, critical-historical earthquake catalogue (the current version being ECOS-09), an associated database for macroseismic analysis and detailed documentation[Publikationen ECOS-09]. The first step involves scouring historical documents (chronicles, official documents, diaries, newspaper articles, scientific treaties, etc.) to gather accounts of earthquakes and descriptions of the damage they caused. When subjected to source-critical analysis, this information can be translated into site-specific intensity points using the European Macroseismic Scale EMS-98. By applying a statistical method calibrated against recent earthquakes, identified intensity fields can be used to pinpoint the location, hypocentral depth and magnitude of earthquakes with considerable accuracy.

Palaeoseismologists examine geological structures that can be caused by strong earth tremors, such as evidence of earthquake-induced mass wasting or tsunamis (seismic sea waves), landslides in mountainous areas, fault structures visible at the surface and damage caused to stalactites and stalagmites in caves. Palaeoseismological methods enable us to piece together a considerably longer time series for the frequency of very strong earthquakes than could be produced from instrumental data and historical observations alone.

A Multidisciplinary Approach

A decisive factor for ensuring that information from various sources on a specific period is interpreted as accurately as possible is that it is produced using historical methods and viewed against the backdrop of its sociocultural context. Lying on the border between science and the humanities, analysing how earthquake data are produced is also of interest to researchers in other areas, including the history of knowledge, environmental history and the sociology of risk.

Palaeoseismic studies apply geological and geophysical methods. Since the interpretation of such ancient traces is never clear-cut, they are dated as accurately as possible (e.g. using the carbon-14 method) and then considered alongside other observations. An earthquake hypothesis is only posited if separate traces can be shown to have resulted from activity that occurred in the same era and overall area.

Results and Future Prospects

The most recent update of the historical critical review of the Earthquake Catalogue of Switzerland (ECOS-09) focussed primarily on the period from 1000 to 1878. There have also been detailed case studies of the most powerful and damaging earthquakes of the twentieth century (Sierre in 1946 and Sarnen in the canton of Obwalden in 1964). At the time of writing, as part of a multidisciplinary National Fund project, we were studying medium-strength earthquakes that occurred in the pre-instrumental and early instrumental eras of earthquake monitoring in Switzerland (1878-1974). Since such quakes are relatively common in Switzerland, this period saw a strong increase in the quantity of viable source data produced, leaving us a very rich corpus of information.

Although palaeoseismological work is conducted at a number of universities, evidence of earthquakes in prehistory is often only a by-product of research. Consequently, our efforts focus on systematically sifting through the evidence and structuring data in a homogeneous way, using the approach already applied to historical earthquakes. This enables a joint interpretation of an originally heterogeneous dataset and unearths new findings about the magnitude and location of very large prehistoric earthquakes.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Sismologie historique & paléosismologie

Sismologie historique & paléosismologie

Les connaissances acquises sur des séismes passés nous donnent des indications importantes pour la prévention, et nous permettent de localiser les tremblements de terre et d’évaluer leur intensité. En Suisse, les forts tremblements de terre sont relativement rares, c’est pourquoi nous ne disposons pas encore de données issues d’instruments de mesure. Nous devons donc nous référer à des documents historiques, les analyser par des méthodes scientifiques, et interpréter par des méthodes paléosismiques les traces géologiques des grands tremblements de terre.

Figure: Carte des séismes de la Suisse 1880-1909, élaborée en 1911 par Jakob Früh, à l’époque président de la Commission Sismologique Suisse

Reconstruction des séismes passés

La reconstruction de séismes passés ne présente pas uniquement un intérêt historique. Les connaissances acquises servent de base pour l’évaluation de l'aléa sismique d’une région et fournissent entre autres des indications sur les amplifications locales des secousses sismiques par le sous-sol.

Pour garantir la fiabilité des informations tirées des descriptions historiques des tremblements de terre, il existe au SED depuis 1999 une sous-discipline de sismologie historique. Depuis, il a été constitué en collaboration interdisciplinaire entre des historiens, des sismologues et des experts en bases de données un premier catalogue des tremblements de terre soumis à révision critique historique (version actuelle ECOS-09), la banque de données associées pour l’analyse macrosismique et des documentations détaillées. L’approche consiste d’abord à collecter les observations de tremblements de terre et les descriptions des dommages dans les documents historiques (chroniques, documents officiels, journaux, articles de journaux, traités scientifiques, etc.). Après un dépouillement critique des sources, ces informations peuvent être traduites à l’aide de l’Échelle macrosismique européenne (EMS-98) en points locaux d’intensité. Grâce à une méthode statistique étalonnée avec des séismes récents, il est possible d’évaluer assez précisément à l’aide des champs d’intensité déterminés de cette manière la localisation, la profondeur du foyer et la magnitude du séisme.

La paléosismologie étudie les structures géologiques pouvant être créées à la suite de secousses importantes. On peut citer les mouvements de masses induits par les séismes ou les tsunamis dans les lacs, les glissements de terrain en montagne, les structures faillées visibles en surface, ainsi que les dommages portés aux stalactites dans les grottes. La paléosismologie permet de mettre en place une série temporelle bien plus longue pour la fréquence de séismes très forts que celle obtenue uniquement à l’aide d’observations instrumentales et historiques.

Une approche interdisciplinaire

Il est essentiel, pour une interprétation la plus précise possible des différentes sources, que celles-ci soient resituées dans le contexte de production socio-culturelle de l’époque historique concernée grâce à des méthodes historiques scientifiques. A l’interface entre les sciences naturelles et les sciences humaines, l’analyse des pratiques de production des données de séismes est également d’un grand intérêt pour d’autres domaines de recherche, comme l’histoire des sciences et de l’environnement, ou encore la sociologie des risques.

Lors des études paléosismiques, on applique des méthodes géologiques et géophysiques. Les interprétations n’étant jamais univoques, toutes les traces sont datées par la méthode du carbone 14, puis mises en relation avec d’autres observations. Une hypothèse de tremblement de terre n’est donc validée que lorsque différentes traces peuvent être identifiées au même moment et sur une région étendue.

Résultats et perspectives

La dernière version historique critique du catalogue des séismes de la Suisse (ECOS-09) s’est concentrée sur les années 1000–1878. Par ailleurs, des études de cas détaillées se sont penchées sur les tremblements de terre les plus forts du xxe siècle (Sierre 1946, Sarnen OW 1964). Actuellement nous traitons, dans le cadre d’un projet interdisciplinaire du Fonds national, les séismes moyens de la période préinstrumentale et instrumentale précoce de surveillance en Suisse (1878–1974). De tels séismes sont relativement fréquents dans notre pays, et la production de sources exploitables augmente fortement pendant cette période. Ceci permet de constituer un large jeu de données, avec une importante densité d’informations.

Différentes universités travaillent dans le domaine de la paléosismologie, mais les indices paléosismologiques sont souvent uniquement un produit annexe de la recherche. Le point central de nos travaux est donc de traiter systématiquement les indices rencontrés au sein d’une structure de données homogènes, semblable à celle qui a été élaborée pour les séismes historiques. Ceci permet une interprétation commune d’un jeu de données hétérogènes à l’origine, et l’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances sur l’intensité et la localisation des très gros séismes préhistoriques.