MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Catalogues

The SED compiles the earthquake catalogue for Switzerland and surrounding regions, spanning historical events dating back to AD250 to events occurring only minutes ago. The quality and reliability of the information in the earthquake catalogue varies hugely depending of the date of the event.

Historical events are only roughly understood, information gathered from geological observations.

Up until to the mid 1970s, events can be located and magnitudes determined by analysing ‘macroseismic’ intensities derived from descriptions of the events in the literature, and more recently, by information from the epicentral region directly solicited by the SED.

Since 1975, the earthquake catalogue is instrumental - meaning it is completely determined using the seismic network infrastructure operated at the SED. As the network has become progressively more dense, with improved instrumentation (in particular more reliable timing) and improved computing resources, the earthquake locations and magnitudes have become more accurate, and the minimum magnitude threshold lowers.

The SED catalogue can be accessed through a variety of tools that are described below.

Access to the Earthquake Catalogue of Switzerland 2009 (ECOS-09) is provided through a dedicated portal. This catalogue provides historical macroseismic information for earthquakes in Switzerland and the surrounding region since 250AD together with earthquake parameters derived from instrumental recordings since 1975. The catalogue is static and was frozen in 2009, so it contains information until the end of 2008. ECOS-09 is the earthquake catalogue used for the 2015 version of the Swiss seismic hazard model

The always up-to-date SED event catalogue, from AD250 to today, is queryable using fdsnws-event. This service can be used by casual users to explore the catalogue using their browser, and more advanced users can embed this service into programming scripts.

More information is found on the FDSN Web Services section.

The always up-to-date SED event catalogue, as available from fdsnws-event, can also be explored using the basic portal pages dedicated to waveform access:

  • SED WebDC3 Waveform Portal: access to Swiss raw waveform datasets. Restricted data is also available on this portal, though a password is required. Email SED_data_access@sed.ethz.ch if you have reason to access these restricted datasets. The SED earthquake catalogue can be accessed and explored alongside other global earthquake catalogues.
  • EIDA Portal: access to European raw waveform datasets, including all open Swiss data. The SED catalogue can be accessed and explored alongside other global and European earthquake catalogues.
  • SED Strong-Motion Portal: for access to strong motion event data, with selections based on event date and magnitude, as well as peak ground motion parameters. Includes all events with M>2.5 since 1990 in the up-to-date SED event catalogue.
Earthquake Catalogues
Snapshot from SED WebDC3 Waveform Portal for All Swiss Events > M3.0 since 2010

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Catalogues sismiques

Le SED compile le catalogue sismique pour la Suisse et les régions limitrophes, remontant à des évènements historiques jusqu’en 250 avant notre ère, pour arriver des phénomènes survenus seulement quelques minutes auparavant. La qualité et la fiabilité des informations du catalogue sismique dépendent énormément de la date de l’événement.

Les informations concernant les évènements historiques sont collectées principalement dans les relations historiques, dont les intensités macrosismiques sont déduites (descriptions détaillées de la méthodologie et des résultats dans le rapport ECOS-09 ; Schwarz-Zanetti, G. & Fäh, D. 2011 Grundlagen des Makroseismischen Erdbebenkatalogs der Schweiz 1000–1680 ; Gisler, M. & Fäh, D. 2011 Grundlagen des Makroseismischen Erdbebenkatalogs der Schweiz. 1681–1878).

Les enregistrements de séismes de terre ont été collectés et analysés plus systématiquement après la création de la Commission des tremblements de terre de la Société suisse des sciences naturelles en 1878, jusqu’au milieu des années 1970.

Depuis 1975, le catalogue sismique est devenu instrumental, c’est-à-dire qu’il est entièrement déterminé en utilisant l’infrastructure du réseau sismique exploité au SED. Le réseau est devenu progressivement plus dense, avec une instrumentation améliorée (en particulier, un horodatage plus fiable) et de meilleures ressources informatiques ; les localisations et magnitudes des séismes sont donc devenues plus précises, et le seuil minimum de magnitude plus faible.

Le catalogue du SED est accessible grâce à une grande variété d’outils décrits ci-dessous.

Un portail dédié permet l’accès au catalogue sismique de la Suisse 2009 (ECOS-09). Ce catalogue fournit des informations historiques macrosismiques pour les tremblements de terre en Suisse et dans les régions environnantes depuis 250 avant notre ère, ainsi que des paramètres sismiques dérivés des enregistrements instrumentaux depuis 1975. Le catalogue n’évolue plus et a été gelé en 2009, avec donc des évènements jusqu’à la fin 2008. ECOS-09 est le catalogue sismique utilisé pour la version 2015 du Modèle de l’aléa sismique de la Suisse.

Le catalogue permanent du SED, depuis 250 ans avant notre ère jusqu’à aujourd’hui, est mis à jour en permanence et il est possible d’y faire des recherches en utilisant fdsnws-event. Les utilisateurs occasionnels peuvent explorer le catalogue dans un navigateur web, et les utilisateurs confirmés peuvent intégrer ce service dans des scripts de programmation. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans la section des FDSN Web Services.

Le catalogue permanent toujours à jour d’évènements du SED, tels qu’ils dont fournis par fdsnws-event, peut ainsi être exploré en utilisant les pages portails basiques dédiées à l’accès aux formes d’ondes :

  • SED WebDC3 Waveform Portal : accès aux séries de données brutes des formes d’ondes de Suisse. Des données à accès restreint sont également disponibles sur ce portail, mais un mot de passe est nécessaire. Envoyez un courrier électronique à SED_data_access@sed.ethz.ch si vous avez une raison d’accéder à ces séries de données restreintes. Il est possible d’accéder au catalogue sismique du SED et de le parcourir conjointement à d’autres catalogues sismiques mondiaux.
  • EIDA Portal : accès aux jeux de données brutes de formes d’ondes européennes, y compris toutes les données suisses ouvertes. Il est possible d’accéder au catalogue du SED et de le parcourir conjointement à d’autres catalogues sismiques mondiaux et européens.
  • SED Strong-Motion Portal : accès aux données des accéléromètres suisses, avec une sélection basée sur la date et la magnitude des évènements, ainsi que des paramètres de pics de mouvements du sol. Comprend tous les évènements avec M > 2,5 depuis 1990 qui sont présents dans le catalogue mis à jour en permanence du SED.
Earthquake Catalogues
Snapshot from SED WebDC3 Waveform Portal for All Swiss Events > M3.0 since 2010