MENU
The page content begins here

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonics

Seismotectonics studies the relationship between earthquakes, faults, and tectonic processes. It incorporates information from various disciplines including seismology, geodesy, and geology. The analysis of seismological data provides information on the geometry and the sense of motion of earthquake ruptures. The joint interpretation of many earthquakes allows conclusions on the tectonic stress regime, which is, in combination with information on fault orientations, fundamental for providing estimates on the seismic hazard of a region.

Illustration: Depth profile of high-precision hypocenter locations of an earthquake sequence close to Winterthur in April 2014. The focal mechanism (beach-ball symbol) of the ML 2.0 event of April 17th indicates a westward dipping normal fault in the crystalline basement.

What is Seismotectonics?

The seismotectonics group at the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) studies the relationship between earthquakes, individual faults, and tectonic processes in Switzerland and other tectonically active regions in the world. Seismotectonics mainly incorporate information from precise earthquake locations, focal mechanisms, structure and properties of the lithosphere imaged by passive and active seismic data, geodesy, and geology. The primary goal of seismotectonics analysis at the SED is the determination of focal mechanisms of earthquakes from seismic records (seismograms). The focal mechanism provides information on the geometry and the sense of motion of the rupture associated with individual earthquakes. The unambiguous identification of the active rupture plane, however, requires the joint interpretation of the focal mechanism and high-precision hypocenter locations of fore- and aftershocks of the earthquake. In some cases, the identified rupture plane can also be associated with faults known from geological or seismic reflection surveys.

What can we learn from Seismotectonics?

Identified rupture planes in combination with the associated sense of motion allow conclusions on the tectonic regime of a region. Although the mechanisms of single earthquakes contain mainly information on the deformation and are often biased by preexisting structures, the joint interpretation of many earthquakes is representative of the tectonic stress regime of a region. In Switzerland, various different tectonic stress regimes have been identified in the past years, which are mainly driven by large-scale plate tectonic processes such as the collision between the European and African plate and dynamic processes in the Earth’s mantle beneath the Alps. While large parts of the northern Alpine foreland of Switzerland and the northern parts of the Swiss Alps are dominated by compression oriented more or less perpendicular to the strike of the Alps, extension is the dominating tectonic regime in the regions south of the Rhône Valley in the Valais and in parts of Graubünden.

Finally, the provided information on the stress regime in combination with identified faults and fault orientations is fundamental for estimating the seismic hazard.

Seismotectonic
Map showing horizontal tectonic stress components in Switzerland derived from the analysis of earthquake mechanisms [Kastrup et al. 2004, Journal Geophysical Research; Marschall et al. 2013, Swiss Journal of Geoscience]

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Sismotectonique

Sismotectonique

La sismotectonique étudie les relations entre les séismes, les failles et les processus tectoniques. Elle comprend des informations en provenance de différentes disciplines, notamment la sismologie, la géodésie et la géologie. L’analyse de données sismologiques fournit des informations sur la géométrie et le sens du mouvement des failles. L’interprétation simultanée de plusieurs tremblements de terre permet de tirer des conclusions sur le régime de contraintes tectoniques qui, en combinaison avec les informations sur l’orientation des failles, est fondamental pour l’estimation de l'aléa sismique d’une région.

Figure: Profil de profondeur ultra-précise des hypocentres d’une séquence sismique proche de Winterthour en avril 2014. Le mécanisme focal (symbole ballon de plage) de l’évènement ML 2.0 du 17 avril 2017 indique une faille normale plongeant vers l’ouest dans le socle cristallin.

Qu’est-ce que la sismotectonique ?

Le groupe Sismotectonique du Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) étudie les relations entre les séismes, les différentes failles et les processus tectoniques en Suisse et dans d’autres régions tectoniquement actives dans le monde. La sismotectonique collecte les informations d’emplacement précis des tremblements de terre, des mécanismes au foyer, de la structure et des propriétés de la lithosphère révélée par les données sismiques passives et actives, de la géodésie et de la géologie. L’objectif principal des analyses sismotectoniques au SED est de déterminer les mécanismes focaux des tremblements de terre à partir des enregistrements sismiques (sismogrammes). Les mécanismes focaux fournissent des informations sur la géométrie et le sens du mouvement de la faille associée à chaque séisme. Toutefois, une identification claire du plan de faille actif demande une interprétation conjointe du mécanisme focal et une localisation précise de l’hypocentre de la secousse principale et des répliques. Dans certains cas, le plan de rupture identifié peut également être associé à des failles connues suite à des relevés géologiques ou à des mesures de réflexion sismique.

Que pouvons-nous apprendre de la sismotectonique

Lorsqu’on combine les plans de faille identifiés et le sens du mouvement associé, on peut tirer des conclusions sur le régime tectonique de la région. Bien que les mécanismes de chaque tremblement de terre soient caractérisés par des déformations, et souvent biaisés par des structures préexistantes, les interprétations basées sur des séismes multiples reflètent le régime de contraintes tectoniques d’une région. En Suisse, les différents régimes de contraintes tectoniques identifiés dans le passé sont généralement pilotés par des processus tectoniques à grande échelle, notamment la collision entre les plaques européenne et africaine, ou les processus dynamiques mantelliques en dessous des Alpes. Alors que de grandes parties de l’avant-pays alpin du nord de la Suisse, ainsi que le nord des Alpes suisses sont dominées par une compression plus ou moins perpendiculaire aux Alpes, le régime tectonique dominant dans les régions au sud de la vallée du Rhône dans le canton du Valais et certaines parties des Grisons est extensif.

En conclusion, les données fournies par le régime de contraintes, combinées avec les failles identifiées et leur orientation sont fondamentales pour l’estimation de l'aléa sismique.

Sismotectonique
Carte présentant les composantes horizontales des contraintes tectoniques en Suisse, dérivées des analyses des mécanismes des tremblements de terre [Kastrup et al. 2004, Journal Geophysical Research; Marschall et al. 2013, Swiss Journal of Geoscience].