MENU
The page content begins here

Exhibition "unforeSeeable – Earthquakes in Switzerland"

At the present time, earthquakes cannot be predicted. Nevertheless, a lot is known about where, why, and how often they occur. To make these aspects visible, the Swiss Seismological Service presented an extensive exhibition on the occasion of its 100th anniversary. It took place in the focusTerra museum in Zurich from September 6 to November 30, 2014.

Few may remember an earthquake that caused considerable damage in Switzerland. This is not surprising, seeing that the last major event took place nearly 70 years ago: in 1946, an earthquake of magnitude 5.8 shook Valais.

Even though big earthquakes have fortunately failed to occur in recent years, the ground under Switzerland is not lying dormant. This is demonstrated by the 500 to 800 tremors per year caused by local earthquakes that the Swiss Seismological Service at ETH Zurich records. Around ten of those are strong enough to be felt by the population.

These small earthquakes provide valuable information to determine, for example, the seismic hazard in Switzerland as accurately as possible. But the ground beneath our feet still holds many secrets. Discovering them and thus avoiding future damage is one of the main objectives of the Seismological Service. The exhibition "unforeSeeable – Earthquakes in Switzerland" offers insights into the multifaceted work involving the natural hazard with the highest damage potential in Switzerland, and guides visitors through the earthquake history of the country.

Click through the image gallery for an impression of the exhibition.

Exhibition Flyer

Download

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Ausstellung "unvorherSehbar - Erdbeben in der Schweiz"

Erdbeben lassen sich gegenwärtig nicht vorhersagen. Dennoch ist einiges darüber bekannt, wo, weshalb und wie häufig sie auftreten. Um diese Aspekte sichtbar zu machen, präsentierte der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst anlässlich seines 100-jährigen Bestehens eine umfangreiche Ausstellung. Diese fand vom 6. September bis 30. November 2014 im Museum focusTerra in Zürich statt.

Nur wenige mögen sich an ein Erdbeben erinnern, das in der Schweiz beachtliche Schäden angerichtet hat. Das erstaunt kaum, liegt doch das letzte grössere Ereignis beinahe 70 Jahre zurück. 1946 erschütterte ein Beben der Magnitude 5.8 das Wallis.

Auch wenn die grossen Beben in den letzten Jahren glücklicherweise ausgeblieben sind, schlummert die Erde unter der Schweiz nicht. Dass beweisen die 500 bis 800 Erschütterungen durch lokale Beben, die der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst an der ETH Zürich pro Jahr aufzeichnet. Etwa zehn davon sind stark genug, um von der Bevölkerung verspürt zu werden.

Diese kleinen Beben liefern wertvolle Informationen, um beispielsweise die Erdbebengefährdung in der Schweiz möglichst genau zu bestimmen. Der Boden unter unseren Füssen birgt aber nach wie vor viele Geheimnisse. Diesen auf die Spur zu kommen und somit auch künftig Schäden zu vermeiden, ist eines der Hauptziele des Erdbebendienstes. Die Ausstellung „unvorherSehbar – Erdbeben in der Schweiz“ bietet Einblicke in die facettenreiche Arbeit rund um die Naturgefahr mit dem grössten Schadenspotential der Schweiz und führt durch die Erdbebengeschichte des Landes.

Klicken Sie sich durch die Bildergalerie und erhalten Sie einen Eindruck der Ausstellung.

Ausstellungsflyer

Download