Schatzalp Workshop on Induced Seismicity

5 to 8 March 2019 in Davos, Switzerland


At the third Schatzalp Workshop on Induced Seismicity, 49 talks and 63 posters were presented, creating an exciting programme that broadly covered the state-of-the-art research on induced seismicity.

Click here to see and download the PDFs of all talks and posters presented at the workshop and confirmed for publication.


Induced seismicity remains a major challenge for numerous geo-energy applications around the world and a fascinating research topic. Two years full of scientific progress have passed and new, sometimes surprising developments took place since we last met in Davos for the 2nd Schatzalp Workshop on Induced Seismicity.

We now like to invite you to join us for the third workshop that will continue in the tradition of the highly acclaimed previous editions in 2015 and 2017. The focus will again be on discussing the state of the art and future directions of all aspects related to induced seismicity. Special sessions are planned, for example, on lab and underground experiments, the Groningen experience, and the Pohang earthquakes. We also will explore the use of induced seismicity to understand earthquake physics and advance earthquake predictability research.


  1. Case Studies I: World Tour
  2. Social Aspects of Induced Seismicity
  3. Natural or Induced, and Beyond
  4. Induced Seismicity in the Dutch Gas Fields
  5. Physics of Induced Earthquakes I
  6. Physics of Induced Earthquakes II
  7. Modelling Induced Seismicity
  8. Deep Underground Laboratories
  9. Advances in Monitoring Induced Seismicity
  10. Case Studies II: panta rhei

See programme for more details.

Keynote Speakers

  • Pablo Ampuero (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Jens Birkholzer (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Stephen Bourne (Shell Global Solutions International, The Netherlands)
  • Frederic Cappa (Université Côte d‘Azur, France)
  • Torsten Dahm (GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam, Germany)
  • Bill Ellsworth (Stanford University, USA)
  • Domenico Giardini (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Thomas Goebel (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)
  • Caspar Hirschi (University of St. Gallen, Switzerland)
  • Jan-Dirk Jansen (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
  • Chris Marone (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Art McGarr (United States Geological Survey, USA)
  • Jean Schmittbuhl (Université de Strasbourg, France)
  • Jen Schneider (Boise State University, USA)
  • Alex Schubnel (École Normale Supérieure Paris, France)
  • Norman Sieroka (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Gunter Siddiqi (Swiss Federal Office of Energy SFOE)
  • Manuel Sintubin (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium)
  • Evelina Trutnevyte (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Stefan Wiemer (Swiss Seismological Service SED)