MENU
The page content begins here

Exhibition "unforeSeeable – Earthquakes in Switzerland"

At the present time, earthquakes cannot be predicted. Nevertheless, a lot is known about where, why, and how often they occur. To make these aspects visible, the Swiss Seismological Service presented an extensive exhibition on the occasion of its 100th anniversary. It took place in the focusTerra museum in Zurich from September 6 to November 30, 2014.

Few may remember an earthquake that caused considerable damage in Switzerland. This is not surprising, seeing that the last major event took place nearly 70 years ago: in 1946, an earthquake of magnitude 5.8 shook Valais.

Even though big earthquakes have fortunately failed to occur in recent years, the ground under Switzerland is not lying dormant. This is demonstrated by the 500 to 800 tremors per year caused by local earthquakes that the Swiss Seismological Service at ETH Zurich records. Around ten of those are strong enough to be felt by the population.

These small earthquakes provide valuable information to determine, for example, the seismic hazard in Switzerland as accurately as possible. But the ground beneath our feet still holds many secrets. Discovering them and thus avoiding future damage is one of the main objectives of the Seismological Service. The exhibition "unforeSeeable – Earthquakes in Switzerland" offers insights into the multifaceted work involving the natural hazard with the highest damage potential in Switzerland, and guides visitors through the earthquake history of the country.

Click through the image gallery for an impression of the exhibition.

Exhibition Flyer

Download

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Exposition "impréVisible – Séismes en Suisse"

Les tremblements de terre sont à l’heure actuelle impossibles à prévoir. Cependant, on sait dans une certaine mesure où, pourquoi et à quelle fréquence ils se produisent. Le Service Sismologique Suisse a présenté à l’occasion de ses 100 ans d’existence une exposition exhaustive afin de donner de la visibilité à ces aspects. Elle s’est tenue du 6 septembre au 30 novembre 2014 dans le musée focusTerra à Zurich.

Rares sont ceux qui peuvent se souvenir d’un tremblement de terre ayant produit en Suisse des dégâts considérables. Cela n’est guère étonnant dans la mesure où le dernier événement majeur remonte à presque 70 ans en arrière. En 1946, un séisme de magnitude 5.8 a fait trembler le Valais.

Même si les tremblements de terre majeurs ont fort heureusement été absents ces dernières années, le sous-sol de la Suisse ne dort pas: les quelque 500 à 800 secousses locales enregistrées annuellement par le Service Sismologique Suisse à l’ETH de Zurich le prouvent. Environ dix d’entre eux sont suffisamment forts, pour être ressentis par la population.

Ces petits séismes donnent de précieuses informations permettant par exemple de déterminer aussi précisément que possible l’aléa sismique en Suisse. Mais le sol sous nos pieds continue à receler bien des secrets. Les percer et éviter ainsi des dégâts à l’avenir est un des principaux objectifs du Service Sismologique Suisse. L’exposition «impréVisible – Séismes en Suisse» offre un aperçu du travail aux multiples facettes effectué autour du danger naturel pouvant provoquer le plus de dégâts en Suisse. Elle emmène le public à la découverte de l’histoire sismique du pays.

Parcourez la galerie de photos en cliquant pour obtenir un aperçu de l’exposition.

Flyer de l'exposition

Download