MENU
The page content begins here

Seismic Risk Switzerland

Switzerland is a moderate earthquake hazard country with a high seismic financial risk. The 2015 Risk Report published by the Federal Office for Civil Protection (FOCP) ranked earthquakes as the third largest risk faced by Switzerland, after electricity shortages and pandemics.

Seismic Risk
The map shows the distribution of the seismic financial risk in Switzerland. For an event with a periodicity of 500 years strong financial damage can be expected in the red areas. In contrast, the financial consequences are expected to be much smaller in the green areas.

The total risk for damage caused by earthquakes is a combination of four factors.

Seismic hazard

Compared to the rest of Europe, Switzerland has a moderate seismic hazard. The earthquake activity is not distributed evenly: Valais is the region with the highest hazard, followed by Basel, Grisons, the St. Gallen Rhine Valley, Central Switzerland, and the rest of Switzerland.

The hazard map shows where and how often certain incidents of horizontal acceleration are likely.

Local subsoil

The effects of an earthquake at different places vary mostly due to the distance from and depth of the hypocenter of the earthquake as well as the local subsoil. The softer the ground, the more likely it is that damage will occur.

Which types of subsoil are encountered in which areas of Switzerland can be learned from the map of local subsoils. Fluvial valleys and lake shores are especially susceptible; the soft subsoil in these areas leads to shocks with up to ten times greater intensity.

Building vulnerability

In addition to the hazard and the local subsoil, the building in which you live or spend a lot of time is an important factor for the earthquake risk. The better your house resists an earthquake, for example, because it has been reinforced accordingly, the less is going to happen to you if an earthquake occurs.

A building which was not engineered to withstand earthquakes can be destroyed even by an earthquake with middling magnitude, while a building constructed with the earthquake risk in mind can withstand much larger ground movements. Buildings made from reinforced concrete and from wood are generally able to withstand stronger earthquakes and are much less vulnerable than brick buildings. The latter are very common in Switzerland.

Value concentration

The more values are present at a location, the larger the earthquake risk for the people at this location.In general, high-density, highly developed areas like cities in developed countries have a higher concentration of values than rural regions.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Risque sismique Suisse

L’aléa sismique en Suisse est modéré, cependant le risque sismique financier y est fort. Selon le « Rapport sur les risques 2015 » de l’Office fédéral de la protection de la population (OFPP), les tremblements de terre représentent en Suisse le troisième risque après les pénuries d’électricité et les pandémies.

Risque sismique
La carte montre la répartition des conséquences financières du risque sismique. Les coûts qu’engendrerait un très fort tremblement de terre (récurrence de 500 ans) sont les plus élevés dans les zones rouges et les plus faibles dans les zones vertes.

Le risque global de dommages provoqué par les tremblements de terre est le résultat de la combinaison de quatre facteurs.

Seismic hazard

En comparaison avec le reste de l’Europe, l’aléa sismique en Suisse peut être qualifié de modéré, avec des différences régionales : Le Valais est la région qui présente l'aléa sismique le plus élevé, suivi par Bâle, les Grisons, la vallée du Rhin saint-galloise, la Suisse centrale et le reste de la Suisse.

La carte de l’aléa sismique illustre la répartition de l‘accélération horizontale à laquelle il faut s’attendre pour une période de retour donnée.

Local subsoil

Les conséquences d’un séisme à un endroit donné dépendent avant tout de la distance et de la profondeur du foyer sismique, ainsi que de la nature du sous-sol concerné. Pour ce qui est du sous-sol: plus il est mou, plus la probabilité de dégâts est importante.

La position des sols meubles est indiquée dans la carte du sous-sol local. Les vallées fluviales et les berges lacustres sont particulièrement sensibles, les secousses peuvent y être jusqu’à dix fois plus forte que sur un sol rocheux.

Building vulnerability

Outre l’aléa sismique et la nature du sous-sol, le bâtiment dans lequel vous vivez ou séjournez fréquemment joue un rôle important dans le risque sismique. Plus votre maison est résistante aux séismes, parce qu’elle a été par exemple renforcée, plus grande est votre sécurité en cas d’événement sismique.

Une maison n’étant pas aux normes sismiques peut s’effondrer à la suite d’un tremblement de terre de force moyenne. Alors qu’un bâtiment mieux construit résistera à des secousses bien plus fortes. Les bâtiments en béton armé et en bois résistent à de forts séismes et ont de fait une vulnérabilité moindre. Au contraire, les constructions de maçonnerie, largement répandues en Suisse, sont plus sensibles aux tremblements de terre.

Value concentration

Plus la concentration de valeurs est importante à un endroit donné, plus le risque sismique y est élevé pour la population. Fondamentalement, les zones fortement développées et à densité de population élevée, comme les villes des pays industrialisés, présentent une concentration de valeurs plus importante que les régions rurales.