MENU
The page content begins here

Northeastern Switzerland

Between 2011 and 2013, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich (SED) extended its earthquake measuring system in Northeastern Switzerland by building 10 new seismic stations. This expansion was financed by the National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste (NAGRA) and Switzerland's nuclear power plants.

The aim of building a more concentrated network was to gain a clearer picture of seismic activity near the sites for highly radioactive waste proposed within the framework of Switzerland's Sectoral Plan for Deep Geological Repositories. The new stations complement those already run since 2003 by the SED and NAGRA and give the SED a denser national broadband network (SDSNet) in this region. With this denser network, the SED should be able to accurately record even very small microearthquakes in the years to come.

The data gathered by the network will help to identify unknown active fault zones with very slow tectonic movements and also to potentially link them to known geological structures. In the medium term the data will deepen our understanding of seismotectonics (i.e. the study of why and where earthquakes occur) in the region under investigation. The additional data should enable the authorities to carry out more detailed studies in future (e.g. of relevance to judgements about long-term deep geological disposal of radioactive waste or the seismic hazards faced by nuclear power plants and other infrastructure where safety is a key factor).

Six additional measurement stations have been set up in Switzerland, three in boreholes between 120 and 160 metres deep. Installing highly sensitive sensors in boreholes enables us to record high-quality data in areas where measurements would otherwise suffer strong interference from seismic tremors caused by transport or industrial activity on the surface. Four of the 10 new stations are in Germany, because the territory under investigation includes areas close to the border between the two countries and known geological fault zones in the vicinity of Lake Constance. As has now been the case with stations close to the Swiss border for some time, the recorded data will be exchanged in real time, in this case with the federal state of Baden-Württemberg's Earthquake Office (LED).

The data are transferred in real time over telephone lines or the mobile network to the SED's computer centre in Zurich, where they are collated, continually monitored for indications of potential earthquakes and filed. All registered localised earthquakes are immediately published on the SED website, as are waveforms recorded by the new seismic measuring stations. If a stronger earthquake occurs, the Earthquake Office notifies the general public, the authorities and the media.

At six minutes past midnight on 31 January 2014, an earthquake with a magnitude of 1.6 occurred near Gelterkinden in the canton of Basel-Landschaft. The quake was too weak to be noticed by local inhabitants, but was picked up by all the measuring stations in the new, denser network in Northeastern Switzerland. The figure below shows the waveforms (seismograms) in order of their distance from the epicentre of the earthquake.

Earthquake in Gelterkinden in the Canton of Basel-Landschaft
Seismograms of the earthquake on 31 January 2014 near Gelterkinden in the canton of Basel-Landschaft

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Nord-est de la Suisse

Le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l'ETH Zurich a étendu entre 2011 et 2013 le réseau de mesure sismique dans le nord-est de la Suisse, et installé dix nouvelles stations de mesure. Cette extension a été financée par la Société coopérative nationale pour le stockage des déchets radioactifs (Nagra) et par les exploitants de centrales nucléaires suisses.

Le réseau de mesure densifié a pour objectif de détecter l'activité sismique à proximité des sites proposés pour les déchets nucléaires très radioactifs dans le cadre du plan de dépôt en couches géologiques profondes. Les nouvelles stations complètent les stations de mesures exploitées déjà depuis 2003 par le SED et la Nagra, et renforcent le réseau national large bande (SDSNet) du SED dans cette région. Cette densification permettra à l'avenir de détecter également de très petits microséismes avec une précision suffisante sur une grande surface.

Les données collectées permettent d'identifier des zones de failles actives à mouvement tectonique très lent éventuellement inconnues jusqu'ici, et de les relier le cas échéant à des structures géologiques connues. Les données serviront à moyen terme à mieux comprendre la sismotectonique (c'est-à-dire l'étude de la cause et de la localisation des tremblements de terre) dans la région concernée. La base de données étendue servira à l'avenir d'outil aux autorités compétentes pour des études plus poussées (notamment en vue d'évaluer la sécurité à long terme des dépôts en couches géologiques profondes, ou bien de l’aléa sismique pour les centrales atomiques et autres infrastructures concernées par la sécurité).

Sur le territoire suisse, six stations de mesure supplémentaires ont été installées, dont trois dans des forages à une profondeur comprise entre 120 et 160 m. L'installation de ces capteurs ultrasensibles dans des puits de forage permet d'enregistrer des données de haute qualité dans des régions où, par exemple en raison du trafic routier ou des activités industrielles, les mesures à la surface seraient fortement perturbées. Quatre des dix nouvelles stations de mesure se trouvent en Allemagne, car la région étudiée comprend également des zones frontalières, ainsi que des zones géologiques actives connues autour du lac de Constance. Les données enregistrées seront échangées en temps réel avec le Service Sismologique du land de Bade-Wurtemberg (LED), comme c'est le cas depuis longtemps pour les stations proches de la frontière.

Les données sont transmises en temps réel par téléphone fixe ou réseau mobile au centre de calcul du SED à Zurich. Là, elles sont combinées à des données des stations du SDSNet, et scrutées continuellement pour détecter d'éventuels signaux sismiques, avant d'être archivées. Tous les tremblements de terre enregistrés et localisés sont publiés immédiatement sur le site web du SED. Cela s'applique également aux formes d'onde enregistrées par les nouvelles stations de mesure. En cas de tremblement de terre notable, le Service Sismologique informe la population, les autorités et les médias.

Le 31 janvier 2014, un séisme de magnitude 1,6 s'est produit à Gelterkinden dans le canton de Bâle-Campagne, six minutes après minuit. Le tremblement de terre était trop faible pour être perçu par la population. Il a cependant été enregistré par toutes les stations du réseau densifié du nord-est de la Suisse. Le graphique ci-dessous présente les formes d'ondes (sismogramme), classées selon la distance à l'épicentre du séisme.

Earthquake in Gelterkinden in the Canton of Basel-Landschaft
Sismogramme du séisme du 31 janvier 2014 près de Gelterkinden BL