MENU
The page content begins here

Real-Time Seismograms

The following figure shows seismograms produced at monitoring stations in the area around St. Gallen. Seismograms record ground movements over time, i.e. the velocity of seismic waves registered within the last five minutes by the earthquake stations SGT00 to SGT05.

The horizontal axes represent the flow of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), which is one hour ahead of Central European Time (CET). During Central European Summer Time (CEST), GMT is two hours ahead. The vertical axes show wave velocity in micrometres per second (μm/s). These seismograms are filtered before being displayed (using a band-pass filter of 2 to 10Hz) so that small-scale local earthquakes show up more clearly.

Waveforms from seismic stations near St. Gallen (last 5 minutes)

Waveforms (vertical movement) from seismic stations near St. Gallen: last 5 minutes 

 

Seismograms from stations near St. Gallen (last 20 minutes)

Waveforms (vertical movement) from seismic stations near St. Gallen: last 20 minutes 

 

Generally speaking, seismograms can be said to depict seismic noise naturally occurring in the vicinity of the monitoring stations. Particularly quiet locations are characterised by thin wavy signals with minor deviations (e.g. station SGT04). This regular wavy signal is caused by storm systems in the Atlantic and described as marine microseismics. In the summer its amplitude is greater than in winter and it gives several days' advance warning of the arrival of low-pressure fronts.

What Do Seismograms Show?

At locations with more seismic noise, the marine microseismics are increasingly masked by brief interference (e.g. station SGT01, which is very close to St. Gallen), which are usually due to human activity and follow a typical daily pattern. However, strong winds and storms can cause similar interference, too. Man-made interference can be very substantial over very brief periods, e.g. when an aircraft flies past the station, but in most cases it is limited to the local area and only shows up in the recording made by the single, closest station.

With a little luck, seismograms can pick up signals of earthquakes or explosions. Recordings of these events are characterised by a brief increase in amplitude that shows up on seismograms recorded by several stations within a few seconds. Earthquakes and quarry explosions in Switzerland its neighbours can be picked up by these stations and be seen on seismograms, as can more distant earthquakes (so-called 'teleseismic events'). However, filtering tends to prevent most teleseismic events from showing up on seismograms.

Do you think you've spotted an earthquake or explosion on the seismogram? Find out if you were right by checking your suspicion against the list of local earthquakes and global events.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Sismographe temps réel

L'illustration suivante montre les sismogrammes des stations de surveillance de la région de Saint-Gall. Ces sismogrammes représentent la courbe temporelle des mouvements du sol (vitesse de vibration) enregistrés au cours des cinq dernières minutes aux stations sismiques SGT00 à SGT05.

L'heure de l'axe des abscisses correspond à l'heure universelle (UTC). Elle a une heure d'avance sur l'heure d'Europe centrale (CET). Cette avance est de deux heures pour l'heure d'été (CEST). Les axes verticaux montrent la vitesse de vibration du sol en micromètres par seconde (μm/s). Les sismogrammes sont filtrés avant le tracé (filtre passe-bas de 2 s jusqu'à 10 Hz) pour mieux faire apparaître les petits tremblements de terre locaux.

Waveforms from seismic stations near St. Gallen (last 5 minutes)

Sismogrammes (mouvement vertical du sol) de stations sismiques aux alentours de St. Gallen: dernières 5 minutes 

 

Seismograms from stations near St. Gallen (last 20 minutes)

Sismogrammes (mouvement vertical du sol) de stations sismiques aux alentours de St. Gallen: dernières 20 minutes 

En général, les sismogrammes détectent les agitations naturelles du sol sur le site de la station. Les sites particulièrement calmes se traduisent par une fine courbe ondulée avec de petites déviations (p. ex. station SGT04). Ce signal ondulé régulier est engendré par les systèmes dépressionnaires en Atlantique, qui provoquent une activité microsismique marine. Son amplitude est plus importante en été qu'en hiver, et annonce quelques jours à l'avance l'arrivée des dépressions.

Que montrent ces sismogrammes ?

Sur les sites moins calmes, des perturbations de courte longueur d'onde se superposent à la microsismique marine (p. ex. station SGT01, très proche de Saint-Gall). Ces perturbations sont généralement provoquées par l'activité humaine et présentent une évolution diurne typique. Des vents forts ou les intempéries peuvent également provoquer de telles perturbations. Les perturbations engendrées par l'activité humaine peuvent être brièvement très importantes, par exemple lorsqu'un véhicule passe à proximité de la station. Elles sont cependant très locales et ne sont détectées qu'à la station en question.

Avec un peu de chance, on peut reconnaître les signaux d'un tremblement de terre ou d'une explosion sur les sismogrammes. Ils se manifestent généralement par une augmentation temporaire de l'amplitude du sismogramme, et ceci à plusieurs stations dans une plage de quelques secondes. Les stations du réseau de surveillance permettent d'observer les tremblements de terre et les dynamitages de carrières en Suisse et dans les pays limitrophes. Les tremblements de terre à grande distance, qu'on appelle évènements télésismiques, sont enregistrés aux stations et sont visibles sur les sismogrammes. Cependant, en raison du filtrage, les évènements télésismiques sont fortement atténués sur le tracé.

Vous pensez avoir détecté un séisme ou une explosion sur le sismogramme ? Vérifiez votre supposition grâce à la liste des séismes locaux ou mondiaux.