MENU
The page content begins here

Project Description

As part of the GeoBest research project, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) is overseeing the city of St. Gallen's geothermal energy project. To this end, the SED teamed up with St. Gallen's municipal utilities to set up six new earthquake monitoring stations in the St. Gallen region. The aim of this monitoring is to detect and any minor seismic activity – so-called microearthquakes – near deep boreholes and find out whether or not they are linked to the geothermal power project or were naturally caused. Furthermore, the project will gather important basic data that provides a clearer understanding of deep geothermics. These data should serve as an invaluable source of information for guaranteeing safe planning for geothermal projects by cantonal authorities and project organisers.

The new monitoring network comprises six surface stations and one borehole station. Four surface stations were evenly distributed over a circle with a 10 km radius around the deep boreholes. Two additional stations were set up in the centre of the circle, less than 2 km away from the boreholes. The station in the borehole is 205 m down and lies above the landing points of the boreholes for the geothermal project (at a depth of roughly 4.3 km). You can find out more about the individual stations by clicking here.

The purpose of the monitoring network is to markedly improve the accuracy with which the locations of small-scale earthquakes (with a magnitude of Mw > 1.0) are identified in the St. Gallen region, so that their distance from the boreholes in St. Gallen itself can be calculated as precisely as possible. This distance is a key criterion for distinguishing between natural earthquakes and seismic events that may be linked to the geothermal project.

These additional earthquake monitoring stations can be expected to substantially improve recordings of seismic events in the St. Gallen region, because earthquakes that were too weak to register in the past will now show up. Compared with the current average of two earthquakes recorded per annum, in future as many as 30 natural earthquakes could be detected in the St. Gallen area.

Natural earthquakes occur throughout Switzerland, including in and around St. Gallen, though the region's seismicity is rather low compared to the rest of the country (see also Seismic Hazard in Switzerland). Only the St. Gallen Rhine Valley, bordering the area to the east, has a high level of seismic activity.

Between 1975 and 2008, the SED recorded 93 earthquakes with magnitudes of between Mw = 1.2 and Mw = 3.7 within a circle of 20 km around the site of the geothermal projects. The quakes in question occurred at depths of up to 30 km, though the seismic focus of most of them was at depths of between 0 and 10 km.

The strongest earthquake had a magnitude of Mw = 3.7 and occurred on 24 August 1996 under Kirchberg, at a depth of roughly 30 km. Another typical feature of seismic activity in Switzerland is the occurrence of earthquake swarms. In 1990, a spatiotemporal cluster of earthquakes of similar strength occurred south of Oberuzwil.

The strongest ever earthquake recorded in or around St. Gallen occurred on 11 August 1771 near Niedersommeri, to the north of Amriswil. Since at the time of course there were no instruments to record that quake, its magnitude of Mw = 5.1 can only be estimated from historical accounts of the event. The following entries stem from the diary of Prince-Abbot Beda Angehrn (St. Gallen Abbey Archive, vol. 282, 1767-1773):

11 August 1771: Circa mediam nonam matutinam factus est terrae motus com valde magna concussione sine tamen ullo damno. Deo sint laudes. (At around eight-thirty in the morning a violent earthquake occurred, but did not cause any damage. Thanks be to God.)

12 August 1771: Received reports from various places about yesterday's earthquake, which was also very strongly felt in Wyl where it toppled a number of chimneys and caused serious damage to the front end of the church. One or two cracks are also said to have appeared in the cupola of the church in Kirchberg (May God protect [us] from any further evil).

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Description du projet

Dans le cadre du projet d'exploration GeoBest, le Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) effectue la surveillance sismologique du projet de géothermie de la ville de Saint-Gall. Pour ceci, le SED, en collaboration avec les ateliers municipaux de Saint-Gall, a installé six nouvelles stations sismologiques dans la région. L'objectif de cette surveillance consiste à détecter d'éventuels petits tremblements de terre (microséismes) aux alentours des forages profonds, et de déterminer s'ils sont provoqués par le projet géothermique ou s'ils sont d'origine naturelle. Par ailleurs, des données de base importantes pour une meilleure compréhension de la géothermie sont collectées dans le cadre du projet, un trésor d'expérience indispensable qui devrait permettre de garantir une sécurité de planification pour les autorités cantonales et les exploitants de futurs projets géothermiques.

Le réseau de surveillance récemment étendu est constitué de six stations en surface et d'une station en forage. Quatre stations de surface ont été réparties régulièrement sur un cercle de 10 km de rayon autour des forages. Deux autres stations sont situées au centre du cercle, à moins de 2 km des forages profonds. La station en forage est installée à une profondeur de 205 m, au-dessus des points d'arrivée des forages profonds du projet géothermique (env. 4,3 km de profondeur). Vous trouverez ici des vues de chaque site de station.

L'objectif du réseau de surveillance consiste à obtenir une amélioration notoire de la précision de localisation pour les petits séismes (magnitude Mw > 1,0) dans la région de Saint-Gall, pour déterminer au plus juste leur distance des forages profonds. Cette distance est un critère important de discrimination entre les séismes naturels, et ceux liés au projet de géothermie.

Ces stations sismiques supplémentaires devraient en outre largement améliorer la détection des séismes dans la région de Saint-Gall. A l'avenir, on enregistrera des séismes qui n'étaient pas jusqu'ici détectés, parce que trop faibles. En comparaison avec une moyenne annuelle actuelle de deux séismes détectés, il sera possible désormais de détecter jusqu'à 30 séismes naturels par an dans la région de Saint-Gall.

Comme dans toute la Suisse, on observe dans la région de Saint-Gall des séismes naturels. La sismicité dans la région est cependant relativement faible en comparaison avec le reste de la Suisse (voir également l'aléa sismique en Suisse). Seule la section saint-galloise de la vallée du Rhin, formant la frontière est, présente une activité sismique plus forte.

Dans un rayon de 20 km autour du site du projet de géothermie, 93 séismes de magnitude comprise entre Mw=1,2 et Mw=3,7 ont été enregistrés par le SED entre 1975 et 2008. Ces tremblements de terre se sont produits à des profondeurs pouvant atteindre 30 km, mais la plupart se situaient entre 0 et 10 km.

Le séisme le plus important avait une magnitude de Mw=3,7 et s'est produit le 24 août 1996 à une profondeur d'environ 30 km sous Kirchberg. L'activité sismique en Suisse est également caractérisée par l'occurrence d'essaims de tremblements de terre. En 1990, on a enregistré au sud d'Oberuzwil une telle série spatiale et temporelle de séismes de force similaire.

Le tremblement de terre historique le plus important dans la région de Saint-Gall s'est produit le 11 août 1771 à proximité de Niedersommeri, au nord d'Amriswil. Il n’existait bien entendu pas encore d'instruments pour enregistrer ce phénomène, dont la magnitude Mw=5,1 ne peut être estimée qu'à partir de relations historiques. On peut citer entre autres le journal du prince-abbé Beda Angehrn (Archives Saint-Gall, volume 282, 1767-1773) :

11 août 1771 : Circa mediam nonam matutinam factus est terrae motus com valde magna concussione sine tamen ullo damno. Deo sint laudes. (Le matin, à huit heures et demie environ, un tremblement de terre s'est produit avec une très grosse secousse, mais sans aucun dommage. Dieu soit loué.)

12 août 1771: D'ici et d'ailleurs sont arrivées des nouvelles du tremblement de terre d'hier, ressenti très fortement aussi à Wyl, de telle sorte que quelques cheminées se sont écroulées et que les façades de l'église auraient été fortement endommagées. Les coupoles de l'église de Kirchberg auraient subi maintes fissures. Deus alteriora mala benigne avertere velit (Dieu puisse nous épargner d'autres maux).