MENU
The page content begins here

Project Description

The Deep Heat Mining Project in Basel was a ground-breaking Swiss energy research project that planned to build a pilot plant for a geothermal power station using the Enhanced Geothermal System (EGS) or 'petrothermal energy generation'. This entails forcing a cold liquid, usually water, down into hot rock, where it heats up before being conveyed back up to the surface to be used to generate heat or electricity.

In the medium term, the project was intended to generate environmentally-friendly power, harnessing Swiss energy sources and lowering the country's reliance on imported electricity. A pilot plant, due to be built in Basel, was supposed to generate 6 MW of electricity and 17 MW of heat, whilst emitting hardly any CO2 and barely producing any waste. This output would have sufficed to meet the energy needs of around 10,000 households and the heating requirements of 2,700 homes. The plan was to drill to a depth of 5,000 metres to exploit the temperatures of 200°C there.

The intended site of the future geothermal power plant was the Basel Industrial Works (IWB) site in Basel-Kleinhüningen. From there, the heat could have been injected into the extensively developed municipal district heating system. During the summer months, when there is low demand for district heating, the plant would mainly have generated power.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Description du projet

Le projet appelé « Deep Heat Mining » à Bâle était un projet novateur de recherche énergétique suisse, qui prévoyait la construction d’une installation pilote pour une centrale géothermique utilisant le procédé EGS (« Enhanced Geothermal System », géothermie pétrothermale). Ce procédé consiste à injecter sous pression dans la roche brûlante un liquide froid, en général de l’eau, qui se réchauffe avant d’être repompé en surface où il sera utilisé pour la production de chaleur et d’électricité.

À moyen terme, ce projet devait permettre une production d’énergie respectueuse de l’environnement. Il visait également à exploiter des sources locales d’énergie, pour réduire les importations. L’installation pilote construite à Bâle devait fournir sans émission de CO2 ou production de déchets, plus de 6 mégawatts d’électricité et de 17 mégawatts de chaleur. Ceci correspond à la consommation électrique d’environ 10 000 foyers, et au chauffage de 2700 foyers. On prévoyait des forages à 5000 m de profondeur pour atteindre des températures de 200 °C.

La future centrale géothermique devait se situer sur le site d’IWB à Bâle-Kleinhüningen. La chaleur récupérée devait être injectée dans le réseau étendu de chauffage urbain. Pendant la période estivale, lorsque les besoins en chauffage urbain sont faibles, la centrale aurait produit principalement de l’électricité.