MENU
The page content begins here

Course

2006 - 2009

The first geothermal project in Switzerland designed to generate electricity was launched in Basel. In December 2006, after an exploratory phase, water was due to be forced under high pressure into the crystalline basement rock over a two-week period. The aim of this procedure was to increase its permeability at a depth of between 4,000 and 5,000 m and create a geothermal reservoir where the liquid would circulate and heat up.

The geothermal injection process was tracked by a dense network of seismic monitoring stations, including six of the borehole seismometers operated by Geopower Basel AG at depths of between 300 and 2,700 m. As anticipated, these stations recorded thousands of microquakes. The SED runs a compact network of seismic stations in the Basel area, which was substantially densified during the Deep Heat Mining Project. In addition to this, the federal state of Baden-Württemberg's Earthquake Office (LED) set up a number of monitoring stations on the German side of the border with Switzerland. The SED had access to the data generated by these stations and was tasked to estimate the magnitude of the detected earthquakes.

The rate of injection (quantity of liquid over time) was gradually increased until, on the sixth day, the maximum rate was reached. Shortly after, an earthquake with a local magnitude of 2.6 occurred, whereupon the rate of injection was first decreased and then stopped altogether a few hours later. Approximately five hours after that, an earthquake with a local magnitude of 3.4 (moment magnitude 3.1) occurred. Having an intensity of V ("moderate" on the Mercalli scale), it was felt over a wide area and caused minor damage. Three more quakes with local magnitudes of higher than 3.0 ensued, the last occurring in February 2007. All in all, more than 200 earthquakes with magnitudes of 0.9 (ML) or above were recorded (equivalent to over 900 earthquakes with Mw). Consequently, the project managers stopped implementing their plan and definitively terminated the project in 2009 after a comprehensive risk assessment.

For the most part, the damage reported concerned small cracks in buildings' plasterwork. Most claims, which totalled CHF 6 million, resulted in the payment of compensation.

Zeitliche Abfolge

Since 2009 (as of June 2017)

Earthquake activity in the vicinity of the borehole has been monitored by a seismic network since the start of the project. The indications from the amassed data are that seismic activity in the stimulated area has more or less continually decreased since the project ended in 2006. Roughly a year after the closure of the borehole in April 2011, seismic activity in the immediate vicinity of the borehole markedly increased again. This increase has been particularly noticeable since the second half of 2016 and typically consisted of swarms of microearthquakes, with phases of increased activity over a number of weeks being followed by quieter periods. So far, none of these earthquakes were felt by the public.

Apart from the seismic activity, in recent months the spatial distribution of the quakes has also shifted. The latest earthquakes occurred at the southern and northern edges of the previously affected area, suggesting that the artificially induced fractures are spreading. In addition, measurements show that the hydraulic pressure in the reservoir (pore pressure) has steadily increased since the borehole was closed. A detailed analysis of the seismic data and modelling of the relationship between earthquakes and increasing pore pressure have shown that even modest pressure increases in the reservoir can significantly increase seismicity.

On 28 March 2017, in consultation with Basel Industrielle Werke (IWB) the Department of Health of the Canton of Basel decided to re-open the borehole created in Basel as part of the "Deep Heat Mining" geothermal power project in 2006. An extensive scientific study by the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at the ETH Zurich revealed that the increased earthquake activity will most probably subside again in the long term if the borehole is opened.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Cours

2006 - 2009

Le premier projet de géothermie avec production d’électricité de Suisse a été lancé à Bâle. Après une phase d’exploration, de l’eau devait être injectée à haute pression dans le socle cristallin en décembre 2006. L’objectif consistait à augmenter sa perméabilité à une profondeur de 4000 à 5000 mètres, et à créer un réservoir géothermique dans lequel le fluide devait circuler et se réchauffer.

Le processus d’injection a été surveillé par un système dense de surveillance sismique. Il comprenait entre autres six sismomètres de forage exploités par l’entreprise Geopower Basel AG à une profondeur de 300 à 2700 m, lesquels ont comme prévu enregistré des milliers de microséismes. Le SED exploite dans la région de Bâle un réseau dense de stations sismiques, qui a été encore complété pendant le projet Deep Heat Mining. En outre, le service sismologique du land de Bade-Wurtemberg a installé quelques stations du côté allemand. Le SED avait accès aux données de ces stations et la mission de déterminer la magnitude des tremblements de terre détectés.

Le taux d’injection (débit de fluide) a été augmenté progressivement, pour atteindre le taux maximal le sixième jour. Peu après, un séisme de magnitude locale 2,6 s’est produit. En conséquence, le taux d’injection a été réduit, et même arrêté quelques heures plus tard. Cinq heures plus tard environ, un séisme de magnitude locale 3,4 (magnitude de moment 3,1) s’est produit. Avec une intensité de V, il a été perceptible sur une grande région, et provoqué des dommages mineurs. Trois autres tremblements de terre perceptibles de magnitudes locales supérieures à 3,0 se sont produits jusqu’en février 2007. Au total, ce sont plus de 200 séismes de magnitude égale ou supérieure à  0.9 (ML) qui ont été enregistrés (correspondant à plus de 900 séismes avec Mw). La direction de projet a alors suspendu l’entreprise, et arrêté définitivement le projet en 2009 après une analyse complète de risque.

Les déclarations de dommages reçues concernaient principalement des petites fissures dans l’enduit des bâtiments, et ont atteint un montant de 6 millions de CHF, compensés en grande partie.

Zeitliche Abfolge

Depuis 2009 (état juin 2017)

Le projet géothermique de Bâle lancé en 2006 visait à créer un système de fissures artificielles à une profondeur de 4000 à 5000 m, et à l’utiliser comme réservoir géothermique pour produire de l’énergie. Dans ce but, de l’eau froide a été injectée à haute pression dans le sous-sol. En cours de processus, de nombreux microséismes se sont produits, dont certains ont été ressentis, notamment un tremblement de terre d’une magnitude de 3.4 (ML), qui a provoqué de petits dommages sur des bâtiments. Les travaux du projet ont alors été interrompus, puis définitivement arrêtés en 2009 après une analyse de risque complète. Le forage a été ouvert en décembre 2006 en raison de la sismicité accrue, puis à nouveau fermé en avril 2011.

L’activité sismique à proximité du forage est surveillée depuis le début du projet par un réseau sismique et les données collectées permettent de dire qu’elle a plus ou moins constamment baissé dans la zone stimulée depuis la fin du projet en 2006. Environ une année après la fermeture du forage en avril 2011, et notamment depuis le deuxième semestre de 2016, l’activité sismique a recommencé à augmenter significativement à proximité immédiate du forage. Les microséismes se sont produits généralement en essaims, ce qui signifie que des phases d’activité accrue de quelques semaines ont été suivies de périodes plus calmes. Jusqu’ici, aucun de ces séismes n’a été ressenti par la population.

Le Département de la santé publique du canton de Bâle-Ville a décidé le 28 mars 2017, en accord avec IWB (Industrielle Werke Basel), de rouvrir dans les prochaines semaines le forage qui avait été effectué dans le cadre du projet de géothermie « Deep Heat Mining » en 2006 à Bâle. Une étude scientifique complète du Service Sismologique Suisse (SED) à l’ETH de Zurich (en allemand) a montré que l’augmentation de l’activité sismique peut être abaissée à nouveau avec une grande probabilité à long terme par l’ouverture du forage.