MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment

The Engineering Seismology group develops the basic tools and techniques used for seismic hazard and risk assessment. These include catalogues of historical and instrumental earthquakes, reliable ground motion mitigation models, high-definition underground models for numerical simulation of earthquakes and the interpretation of historical observations and earthquake recordings at seismic stations. Engineering seismologists produce local seismic hazard maps (microzonation) and link the results to data on building vulnerability so that dependable risk assessments can be carried out.

To develop these tools and techniques, the Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment section is divided into four research groups that focus on specific domains, but often also study shared topics of interest. The section is headed by Professor Donat Fäh.

The Strong Ground Motion Seismology and Site Effects research group develops new tools and techniques for improving seismic hazard analysis in Switzerland. Part of its work involves upgrading and expanding the strong motion network through to 2019. Geophysical and geotechnical measurements are taken to determine the properties of the local geological underground at each station, enabling us to interpret any features captured on earthquake recordings. To this end, we have developed special measurement procedures, some of which are based on analysing seismic noise.

The Numerical Earthquake Ground Motion Modelling research group works on methods for numerically simulating the impact of earthquakes. Earthquakes are modelled when there are no instrumental recordings, i.e. particularly for large, damaging earthquakes and sites close to seismic sources. One way of doing this is to calibrate site-specific ground motion attenuation models. Another is to use deterministic modelling of the rupture process and of wave propagation for scenario earthquakes. However, local geological properties must always be properly factored in. The recordings at seismic stations are used to calibrate the numerical models.

Earthquakes are not the only events that cause damage to buildings and infrastructure: secondary earthquake-induced phenomena can wreak havoc as well, for example through soil liquefaction, landslides and tsunamis on lakes triggered by underwater landslides. This is the focal point of the  Earthquake-Induced Phenomena research group. One aim of our earthquake research is to characterise such phenomena with a view to seismic hazard analysis and the recognition of early indications of mass wasting (ground movements) based on giveaway seismic signals. Other phenomena to watch for are short-term foreshocks prompted by processes in the earth's crust, which can produce characteristic electromagnetic and geochemical signals.

The Historical Seismology and Palaeoseismology research group analyses earthquakes predating the establishment of the modern seismic network in the mid-1970s. Data on earlier earthquakes provide important information for anticipatory mitigation measures and enable us to pinpoint where events occurred and estimate their magnitude. Damaging powerful earthquakes are relatively rare in Switzerland, so no instrumental data on them are available yet. Consequently, we have to draw on chronicles from the past, analyse this information using historical methods, and use palaeoseismological methods to interpret geological traces of major earthquakes.

MENU
Le contenu de la page commence ici

Évaluation de l’aléa et du risque sismique

Les bases nécessaires à l’évaluation de l’aléa sismique et à l’analyse des risques sont élaborées dans le domaine Sismologie de l’ingénieur. Ces bases comprennent des catalogues sismiques pour les tremblements de terre historiques ou enregistrés par des instruments, des modèles fiables d’amortissement des secousses du sol, des modèles haute définition du sous-sol pour la simulation numérique des séismes ainsi que l’interprétation d’observations historiques et des enregistrements des stations sismiques. La sismologie de l'ingénieur élabore des cartes de danger locales (microzonage) et relie les résultats avec des données de vulnérabilité des bâtiments, pour pouvoir effectuer des études de risques fiables.

Pour élaborer ces bases, la section Aléas sismiques et analyse des risques est divisée en quatre groupes de recherche, qui abordent parfois des problèmes qui leur sont propres, mais souvent aussi qui concernent plusieurs groupes. Le directeur de la section est le professeur Dr Donat Fäh.

Le domaine de recherche « Sismologie des forts tremblements de terre et effets de site » élabore de nouvelles bases pour améliorer l’analyse de l'aléa sismique en Suisse. Une partie de cette mission consiste à rénover et étendre le réseau accélérométrique d’ici 2019. Grâce à des mesures géophysiques et géotechniques, les caractéristiques du sous-sol local de chaque station sont déterminées, ce qui nous permet d’interpréter les enregistrements sismiques obtenus. Pour ces mesures, des procédures spéciales ont été développées, basées entre autres sur l’analyse des vibrations ambiantes du sol.

Le domaine de recherche « Modélisation numérique des mouvements sismiques du sol » développe des méthodes pour simuler numériquement l’impact des tremblements de terre. Les modélisations sismiques sont mises en œuvre là où les enregistrements manquent, c’est-à-dire en particulier pour les séismes provoquant des gros dommages et pour les sites à proximité des sources sismiques. Pour ceci, il est possible d’une part d’étalonner des modèles d’atténuation locale des mouvements du sol. D’autre part, il est possible également d’utiliser une modélisation déterministe du processus de rupture et de propagation des ondes pour différents scénarios de séisme. Il est indispensable pour cela de prendre en compte les caractéristiques géologiques locales. Les enregistrements sur les stations sismiques sont utilisés pour étalonner les modèles numériques.

Les tremblements de terre ne sont pas la cause unique des dommages sur les bâtiments et infrastructures : ils peuvent également être causés par des phénomènes secondaires induits, notamment liquéfaction du sol, glissements de terrain ou encore tsunamis lacustres déclenchés par des glissements immergés. C’est l’intérêt essentiel du groupe de recherche « Phénomènes induits par les tremblements de terre ». Un des objectifs consiste à caractériser de tels phénomènes pour l’analyse de l'aléa sismique, ainsi que la détection précoce de mouvements de masse sur la base de signaux sismiques typiques. Un autre aspect est constitué par les précurseurs sismiques à court terme, provoqués par les processus au sein de la croûte terrestre qui peuvent émettre des signaux électromagnétiques et géochimiques.

Le groupe de recherche « Sismologie historique et paléosismologie » analyse les tremblements de terre antérieurs à la mise en service du réseau sismologique moderne au milieu des années 1970. Les connaissances acquises sur des séismes passés nous donnent des indications importantes pour la prévention, et nous permettent de localiser les tremblements de terre et d’évaluer leur intensité. En Suisse, les forts tremblements de terre sont relativement rares, c’est pourquoi nous ne disposons pas encore de données issues d’instruments de mesure. Nous devons donc nous référer à des documents historiques, les analyser par des méthodes scientifiques, comme interpréter par des méthodes paléosismiques les traces géologiques des grands tremblements de terre.