MENU
The page content begins here

Northeastern Switzerland

Between 2011 and 2013, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at ETH Zurich (SED) extended its earthquake measuring system in Northeastern Switzerland by building 10 new seismic stations. This expansion was financed by the National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste (NAGRA) and Switzerland's nuclear power plants.

The aim of building a more concentrated network was to gain a clearer picture of seismic activity near the sites for highly radioactive waste proposed within the framework of Switzerland's Sectoral Plan for Deep Geological Repositories. The new stations complement those already run since 2003 by the SED and NAGRA and give the SED a denser national broadband network (SDSNet) in this region. With this denser network, the SED should be able to accurately record even very small microearthquakes in the years to come.

The data gathered by the network will help to identify unknown active fault zones with very slow tectonic movements and also to potentially link them to known geological structures. In the medium term the data will deepen our understanding of seismotectonics (i.e. the study of why and where earthquakes occur) in the region under investigation. The additional data should enable the authorities to carry out more detailed studies in future (e.g. of relevance to judgements about long-term deep geological disposal of radioactive waste or the seismic hazards faced by nuclear power plants and other infrastructure where safety is a key factor).

Six additional measurement stations have been set up in Switzerland, three in boreholes between 120 and 160 metres deep. Installing highly sensitive sensors in boreholes enables us to record high-quality data in areas where measurements would otherwise suffer strong interference from seismic tremors caused by transport or industrial activity on the surface. Four of the 10 new stations are in Germany, because the territory under investigation includes areas close to the border between the two countries and known geological fault zones in the vicinity of Lake Constance. As has now been the case with stations close to the Swiss border for some time, the recorded data will be exchanged in real time, in this case with the federal state of Baden-Württemberg's Earthquake Office (LED).

The data are transferred in real time over telephone lines or the mobile network to the SED's computer centre in Zurich, where they are collated, continually monitored for indications of potential earthquakes and filed. All registered localised earthquakes are immediately published on the SED website, as are waveforms recorded by the new seismic measuring stations. If a stronger earthquake occurs, the Earthquake Office notifies the general public, the authorities and the media.

At six minutes past midnight on 31 January 2014, an earthquake with a magnitude of 1.6 occurred near Gelterkinden in the canton of Basel-Landschaft. The quake was too weak to be noticed by local inhabitants, but was picked up by all the measuring stations in the new, denser network in Northeastern Switzerland. The figure below shows the waveforms (seismograms) in order of their distance from the epicentre of the earthquake.

Earthquake in Gelterkinden in the Canton of Basel-Landschaft
Seismograms of the earthquake on 31 January 2014 near Gelterkinden in the canton of Basel-Landschaft

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Nordostschweiz

Der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst an der ETH Zürich (SED) hat von 2011 bis 2013 das Erdbebenmessnetz in der Nordostschweiz erweitert und zehn neue Messstationen aufgebaut. Der Ausbau wurde von der Nationalen Genossenschaft für die Lagerung radioaktiver Abfälle (Nagra) und den Schweizerischen Kernkraftwerken finanziert.

Das verdichtete Messnetz zielt darauf ab, die seismische Aktivität in der Umgebung der im Rahmen des Sachplans geologische Tiefenlager vorgeschlagenen Standortgebiete für hochradioaktive Abfälle zu erfassen. Die neuen Stationen ergänzen die bereits seit 2003 vom SED und der Nagra betriebenen Messstationen und verdichten das nationale Breitbandnetz (SDSNet) des SED in dieser Region. Durch die Verdichtung sollen in den kommenden Jahren auch sehr kleine Mikrobeben mit ausreichender Genauigkeit flächendeckend erfasst werden.

Die gesammelten Daten helfen dabei, bisher möglicherweise unbekannte, aktive Störungszonen mit sehr langsamen tektonischen Bewegungen zu identifizieren und gegebenenfalls mit bekannten geologischen Strukturen in Verbindung zu bringen. Die Daten dienen mittelfristig dazu, die Seismotektonik (d. h. die Frage warum und wo es zu Erdbeben kommt) im Untersuchungsgebiet besser zu verstehen. Die erweiterte Datenbasis soll künftig den zuständigen Behörden als Grundlage für weiterführende Untersuchungen dienen (z. B. im Hinblick auf die Beurteilung der Langzeitsicherheit von geologischen Tiefenlagern oder der seismischen Gefährdung von Kernkraftwerken und anderen sicherheitsrelevanten Infrastrukturanlagen).

Auf Schweizerischem Gebiet wurden sechs zusätzliche Messstationen errichtet, davon drei  in Bohrlöchern mit einer Tiefe zwischen 120 und 160 Metern. Die Installation der hochempfindlichen Sensoren in Bohrlöchern erlaubt es, qualitativ hochwertige Daten in Gegenden aufzunehmen, in denen die z. B. durch Verkehr oder Industrie erzeugte Bodenunruhe die Messungen an der Oberfläche stark beeinträchtigen würde. Vier der zehn neuen Messstationen befinden sich in Deutschland, weil das Untersuchungsgebiet auch grenznahe Gebiete sowie bekannte geologische Störungszonen in der Bodenseeregion umfasst. Die aufgezeichneten Daten werden – wie bereits seit langer Zeit für grenznahe Stationen der Fall – mit dem Landeserdbebendienst Baden-Württemberg (LED) in Echtzeit ausgetauscht.

Die Daten gelangen in Echtzeit per Telefonleitung oder Mobilnetz an die Rechenzentrale des SED in Zürich. Dort werden sie mit den Daten der Stationen des SDSNet zusammengeführt und kontinuierlich auf mögliche Erdbebensignale untersucht sowie archiviert. Alle registrierten und lokalisierten Erdbeben werden auf der Webseite des SED umgehend veröffentlicht. Das gilt auch für die Wellenformen, welche die neuen Messstationen aufzeichnen. Im Falle eines stärkeren Erdbebens informiert der Erdbebendienst Bevölkerung, Behörden und Medien.

Am 31. Januar 2014 ereignete sich bei Gelterkinden im Kanton Basel-Landschaft kurz nach Mitternacht um 00.06 ein Erdbeben mit einer Magnitude von 1.6. Das Beben war zu schwach, um von der Bevölkerung verspürt zu werden. Es wurde jedoch von allen Stationen des verdichteten Nordostschweizerischen Netzwerkes aufgezeichnet. Die untenstehende Grafik zeigt die Wellenformen (Seismogramme) geordnet nach der Distanz zum Epizentrum des Bebens.

Earthquake in Gelterkinden in the Canton of Basel-Landschaft
Seismogramme des Erdbebens vom 31. Januar 2014 bei Gelterkinden BL