MENU
The page content begins here

Real-Time Seismograms

The following figure shows seismograms produced at monitoring stations in the area around St. Gallen. Seismograms record ground movements over time, i.e. the velocity of seismic waves registered within the last five minutes by the earthquake stations SGT00 to SGT05.

The horizontal axes represent the flow of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), which is one hour ahead of Central European Time (CET). During Central European Summer Time (CEST), GMT is two hours ahead. The vertical axes show wave velocity in micrometres per second (μm/s). These seismograms are filtered before being displayed (using a band-pass filter of 2 to 10Hz) so that small-scale local earthquakes show up more clearly.

Waveforms from seismic stations near St. Gallen (last 5 minutes)

Waveforms (vertical movement) from seismic stations near St. Gallen: last 5 minutes 

 

Seismograms from stations near St. Gallen (last 20 minutes)

Waveforms (vertical movement) from seismic stations near St. Gallen: last 20 minutes 

 

Generally speaking, seismograms can be said to depict seismic noise naturally occurring in the vicinity of the monitoring stations. Particularly quiet locations are characterised by thin wavy signals with minor deviations (e.g. station SGT04). This regular wavy signal is caused by storm systems in the Atlantic and described as marine microseismics. In the summer its amplitude is greater than in winter and it gives several days' advance warning of the arrival of low-pressure fronts.

What Do Seismograms Show?

At locations with more seismic noise, the marine microseismics are increasingly masked by brief interference (e.g. station SGT01, which is very close to St. Gallen), which are usually due to human activity and follow a typical daily pattern. However, strong winds and storms can cause similar interference, too. Man-made interference can be very substantial over very brief periods, e.g. when an aircraft flies past the station, but in most cases it is limited to the local area and only shows up in the recording made by the single, closest station.

With a little luck, seismograms can pick up signals of earthquakes or explosions. Recordings of these events are characterised by a brief increase in amplitude that shows up on seismograms recorded by several stations within a few seconds. Earthquakes and quarry explosions in Switzerland its neighbours can be picked up by these stations and be seen on seismograms, as can more distant earthquakes (so-called 'teleseismic events'). However, filtering tends to prevent most teleseismic events from showing up on seismograms.

Do you think you've spotted an earthquake or explosion on the seismogram? Find out if you were right by checking your suspicion against the list of local earthquakes and global events.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Echtzeit-Seismogramme

Die nachfolgende Abbildung zeigt die Seismogramme der Überwachungsstationen im Raum St. Gallen. Die Seismogramme geben den zeitlichen Verlauf der Bodenbewegung (Schwinggeschwindigkeit) wieder, der innerhalb der letzten fünf Minuten an den Erdbebenstationen SGT00 bis SGT05 aufgezeichnet wurde.

Die auf der horizontalen Achse angegebene Zeit entspricht der Weltzeit (UTC). Sie liegt eine Stunde vor der Mitteleuropäischen Zeit (CET). Während der Sommerzeit (CEST) beträgt der Vorsprung zwei Stunden. Die vertikalen Achsen zeigen die Schwinggeschwindigkeit des Erdbodens in Mikrometern pro Sekunde (μm/s) an. Die Seismogramme werden vor der Darstellung gefiltert (Bandpassfilter von 2 bis 10Hz), um kleine lokale Erdbeben besser sichtbar zu machen.

Waveforms from seismic stations near St. Gallen (last 5 minutes)

Seismogramme (vertikale Bodenbewegung) von Seismometern in der Nähe von St. Gallen: letzte 5 Minuten 

 

Seismograms from stations near St. Gallen (last 20 minutes)

Seismogramme (vertikale Bodenbewegung) von Seismometern in der Nähe von St. Gallen: letzte 20 Minuten 

 

In der Regel lässt sich in den Seismogrammen die natürliche Bodenunruhe an den Stationsstandorten ablesen. Besonders ruhige Standorte zeichnen sich durch eine dünne wellige Linie mit kleiner Auslenkung aus (z. B. Station SGT04). Dieses gleichmässige wellige Signal wird von Sturmsystemen im Atlantik verursacht und als Meeresmikroseismik bezeichnet. Sie hat im Sommer eine höhere Amplitude als im Winter und kündigt mit einigen Tagen Vorsprung die Ankunft von Tiefdruckgebieten an.

Was zeigen die Seismogrammen?

An Standorten mit höherer Bodenunruhe wird die Meeresmikroseismik zunehmend durch kurzwellige Störungen überlagert (z. B. Station SGT01, die sehr nahe bei St. Gallen liegt). Diese Störungen werden im Allgemeinen durch den Menschen verursacht und zeigen einen typischen Tagesgang. Aber auch starke Winde oder Unwetter verursachen solche Störungen. Vom Menschen ausgelöste Störungen können kurzzeitig sehr gross sein, zum Beispiel wenn ein Fahrzeug in der Nähe der Station vorbeifährt. Diese Störungen sind jedoch meist lokal beschränkt und nur an der betroffenen Station zu sehen.

Mit etwas Glück lassen sich die Signale eines Erdbebens oder einer Sprengung in den Seismogrammen erkennen. Typisch für diese Signale ist eine kurzzeitige Zunahme in der Seismogrammamplitude, die im Bereich von wenigen Sekunden an mehreren Stationen auftritt. An den Stationen des Überwachungsnetzes können Erdbeben und Steinbruchsprengungen aus der Schweiz und dem benachbarten Ausland beobachtet werden. Auch Erdbeben aus grossen Entfernungen, sogenannte teleseismische Ereignisse, werden an den Stationen aufgezeichnet und können in den Seismogrammen beobachtet werden. Aufgrund der Filterung werden teleseismische Ereignisse in der Darstellung jedoch stark unterdrückt.

Haben Sie den Verdacht, ein Erdbeben oder eine Sprengung im Seismogramm erkannt zu haben? Überprüfen Sie Ihre Vermutung anhand der Erdbebenlisten für lokale und weltweite Ereignisse.