MENU
The page content begins here

Project Description

As part of the GeoBest research project, the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) is overseeing the city of St. Gallen's geothermal energy project. To this end, the SED teamed up with St. Gallen's municipal utilities to set up six new earthquake monitoring stations in the St. Gallen region. The aim of this monitoring is to detect and any minor seismic activity – so-called microearthquakes – near deep boreholes and find out whether or not they are linked to the geothermal power project or were naturally caused. Furthermore, the project will gather important basic data that provides a clearer understanding of deep geothermics. These data should serve as an invaluable source of information for guaranteeing safe planning for geothermal projects by cantonal authorities and project organisers.

The new monitoring network comprises six surface stations and one borehole station. Four surface stations were evenly distributed over a circle with a 10 km radius around the deep boreholes. Two additional stations were set up in the centre of the circle, less than 2 km away from the boreholes. The station in the borehole is 205 m down and lies above the landing points of the boreholes for the geothermal project (at a depth of roughly 4.3 km). You can find out more about the individual stations by clicking here.

The purpose of the monitoring network is to markedly improve the accuracy with which the locations of small-scale earthquakes (with a magnitude of Mw > 1.0) are identified in the St. Gallen region, so that their distance from the boreholes in St. Gallen itself can be calculated as precisely as possible. This distance is a key criterion for distinguishing between natural earthquakes and seismic events that may be linked to the geothermal project.

These additional earthquake monitoring stations can be expected to substantially improve recordings of seismic events in the St. Gallen region, because earthquakes that were too weak to register in the past will now show up. Compared with the current average of two earthquakes recorded per annum, in future as many as 30 natural earthquakes could be detected in the St. Gallen area.

Natural earthquakes occur throughout Switzerland, including in and around St. Gallen, though the region's seismicity is rather low compared to the rest of the country (see also Seismic Hazard in Switzerland). Only the St. Gallen Rhine Valley, bordering the area to the east, has a high level of seismic activity.

Between 1975 and 2008, the SED recorded 93 earthquakes with magnitudes of between Mw = 1.2 and Mw = 3.7 within a circle of 20 km around the site of the geothermal projects. The quakes in question occurred at depths of up to 30 km, though the seismic focus of most of them was at depths of between 0 and 10 km.

The strongest earthquake had a magnitude of Mw = 3.7 and occurred on 24 August 1996 under Kirchberg, at a depth of roughly 30 km. Another typical feature of seismic activity in Switzerland is the occurrence of earthquake swarms. In 1990, a spatiotemporal cluster of earthquakes of similar strength occurred south of Oberuzwil.

The strongest ever earthquake recorded in or around St. Gallen occurred on 11 August 1771 near Niedersommeri, to the north of Amriswil. Since at the time of course there were no instruments to record that quake, its magnitude of Mw = 5.1 can only be estimated from historical accounts of the event. The following entries stem from the diary of Prince-Abbot Beda Angehrn (St. Gallen Abbey Archive, vol. 282, 1767-1773):

11 August 1771: Circa mediam nonam matutinam factus est terrae motus com valde magna concussione sine tamen ullo damno. Deo sint laudes. (At around eight-thirty in the morning a violent earthquake occurred, but did not cause any damage. Thanks be to God.)

12 August 1771: Received reports from various places about yesterday's earthquake, which was also very strongly felt in Wyl where it toppled a number of chimneys and caused serious damage to the front end of the church. One or two cracks are also said to have appeared in the cupola of the church in Kirchberg (May God protect [us] from any further evil).

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Projektbeschrieb

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes GeoBest führt der Schweizerische Erdbebendienst (SED) die seismologische Überwachung des Geothermieprojektes der Stadt St. Gallen durch. Dazu hat der SED in Zusammenarbeit mit den Sankt Galler Stadtwerken sechs neue Erdbebenmessstellen im Raum St. Gallen errichtet. Ziel der Überwachung ist es, mögliche kleine Erdbeben - sogenannte Mikrobeben - in der Umgebung der Tiefbohrungen zu detektieren und abzuklären, ob diese in Zusammenhang mit dem Geothermieprojekt stehen oder natürlichen Ursprungs sind. Ausserdem werden durch das Projekt wichtige Grundlagendaten für ein besseres Verständnis der Tiefengeothermie gesammelt, die als unentbehrlicher Erfahrungsschatz die Planungssicherheit der kantonalen Behörden und Projektbetreiber bei zukünftigen Geothermieprojekten gewährleisten sollen.

Das neu aufgebaute Überwachungsnetz besteht aus sechs Oberflächenstationen und einer Bohrlochstation. Vier Oberflächenstationen wurden gleichmässig auf einem Kreis mit 10 km Radius um die Tiefbohrungen verteilt. Zwei weitere Stationen sind im Zentrum des Kreises, im Abstand von weniger als 2 km von den Tiefbohrungen, aufgestellt. Die Bohrlochstation ist in einer Tiefe von 205 m installiert und liegt über den Landepunkten der Tiefbohrungen des Geothermieprojektes (ca. 4.3 km Tiefe). Eindrücke von den einzelnen Stationsstandorten finden Sie hier.

Ziel des Überwachungsnetzes ist es, eine deutliche Verbesserung der Lokalisierungsgenauigkeit für kleine Erdbeben (Magnitude Mw > 1.0) in der Region St. Gallen zu erreichen, um ihren Abstand von den Tiefbohrungen in St. Gallen möglichst genau bestimmen zu können. Dieser Abstand ist ein wichtiges Unterscheidungskriterium zwischen natürlichen und möglichen mit dem Geothermieprojekt in Zusammenhang stehenden Erdbeben.

Mit den zusätzlichen Erdbebenstationen ist zudem eine deutliche Verbesserung der Erdbebenerfassung in der Region St. Gallen zu erwarten. Zukünftig werden auch Erdbeben aufgezeichnet, die bisher nicht erkannt wurden, weil sie zu schwach waren. Im Vergleich zum gegenwärtigen jährlichen Mittel von zwei aufgezeichneten Erdbeben könnten künftig bis zu 30 natürliche Erdbeben in der Region St. Gallen detektiert werden.

Wie in der gesamten Schweiz, so treten auch im Grossraum St. Gallen natürliche Erdbeben auf. Die Seismizität in der Region ist im Vergleich zur restlichen Schweiz jedoch eher niedrig (siehe auch Erdbebengefährdung in der Schweiz). Einzig das St. Galler Rheintal, das im Osten angrenzt, zeigt eine erhöhte Erdbebentätigkeit.

In einem Umkreis von 20 km um den Standort das Geothermieprojektes wurden im Zeitraum von 1975 bis 2008 93 Erdbeben mit Magnituden zwischen Mw=1.2 und Mw=3.7 vom SED aufgezeichnet. Die Erdbeben traten in Tiefen von bis zu 30 km auf, in der Mehrheit lagen die Erdbebenherde jedoch in Tiefen von 0 km bis 10 km.

Das stärkste der Erdbeben hatte eine Magnitude von Mw=3.7 und ereignete sich am 24. August 1996 in einer Tiefe von ungefähr 30 km unter Kirchberg. Typisch für die Erdbebentätigkeit der Schweiz ist auch das auftreten von Erdbebenschwärmen. Im Jahre 1990 wurde südlich von Oberuzwil eine solche räumliche und zeitlichen Anhäufung von Erdbeben ähnlicher Stärke aufgezeichnet.

Das stärkste historische Beben im Grossraum St. Gallen ereignete sich am 11. August 1771 in der Nähe von Niedersommeri nördlich von Amriswil. Da für dieses Beben noch keine instrumentelle Aufzeichnung zur Verfügung stand, kann seine Magnitude von Mw=5.1 nur über Berichte aus historischen Quellen abgeschätzt werden. Die folgenden Eintragungen finden sich beispielsweise im Tagebuch von Fürstabt Beda Angehrn (Stiftsarchiv St. Gallen, Band 282, 1767-1773):

11. August 1771: Circa mediam nonam matutinam factus est terrae motus com valde magna concussione sine tamen ullo damno. Deo sint laudes. (Ungefähr um halb neun Uhr morgens geschah ein Erdbeben mit einer sehr grossen Erschütterung, aber ohne jeglichen Schaden. Gott sei gelobt.)

12. August 1771: Langten da und dorther Bericht ein von dem gestrigen Erdbeben, welches auch zu Wyl sehr starckh verspühret worden, also dass einige Camin eingestürzet und im Forteilen aus der Kirch ville beschädiget worden. Die Kuppel der Kirche zu Kirchberg selle ein und anderen Sprung bekommen haben. Deus alteriora mala benigne avertere velit (Gott möge weiteres Übel gütig [von uns] abwenden).