MENU
The page content begins here

Course

The geothermal energy project in St. Gallen in 2013 aimed to make use of naturally circulating water in existing aquifers at a depth of over 4,000 meters for power production. Comparable projects in southern Germany, which involved drilling into the same layers of rock, had been implemented with success.

Existing fault zones in the subsoil offer optimal conditions for hydrothermal systems, as they offer greater permeability. A suitable location for drilling work was identified in Sittertobel with the aid of a seismic 3-D model. The decision was made in favor of a fault zone whose seismic potential was rated as low by the operators and by the St. Gallen public utilities company (Sankt Galler Stadtwerke) based on past seismic activity.

The SED installed a seismic network with seven stations – six on the surface and one in a borehole – in advance of the drilling work for the purpose of seismic monitoring.

The drilling work began at the start of 2013, and the first test and simulation measures were implemented in the summer of the same year. The number and intensity of the microearthquakes induced were as expected and not noticeable to the public. On the evening of July 19, 2013, seismic activity began to increase; the earthquakes became stronger and more frequent. Following an initial event with a magnitude of 1.6, the traffic light system as a central precautionary element issued a yellow alarm, indicating that pumping work should be terminated immediately. Because the counterpressure was too high due to rising gas in the borehole and presented a potential risk for the system as a whole, however, the pumping work was continued. Seismicity continued to increase, reaching a climax on the morning of July 20, 2013, with a noticeable earthquake with a magnitude of 3.5. This corresponded to an intensity of IV. While the earthquake was noticed extensively by the public, very few reports of damage were received in comparison with Basel.

Earthquake activity then declined constantly as expected, but increased again in connection with preparations for the production tests from September 16, 2013. During this period, a total of 232 microearthquakes were recorded. The strongest took place on October 2, 2013, and had a magnitude of 2.0. With the start of the production tests on October 15, 2013, during which gas and water were extracted from the subsoil, earthquake activity decreased considerably. Since that time, the SED has recorded only four very weak events. These microearthquakes may have been aftershocks from the earthquake on October 2, 2013, and are thus not necessarily attributable to the production test.

According to the latest findings, the earthquakes triggered are directly linked to the steps taken to tackle the gas-water leak observed on July 19, 2013. Increased rates of earthquakes occur above all when pumping fluids into the subsoil (injection). Pumping fluids out of the subsoil (production), on the other hand, generally results in a decrease of the earthquake rate, provided there is no substantial solidification of sediments (compaction). What is more, if the fault zone reacts sensitively to changes in pore pressure, this is an indication that the zone is subject to critical tectonic tension, and that earthquakes are likely to occur.

The St. Gallen public utilities company concluded the first phase of its geothermal energy project following the production tests, and the project was terminated permanently in spring 2014 following further investigation. The St. Gallen public utilities company explained the reason for the termination of the project as a “combination of insufficient water availability, increased earthquake risk and unexpected gas flow in the layers of rock accessed”.

A detailed chronology of seismicity in connection with the geothermal energy project in St. Gallen can be found here.

Information on real-time monitoring of induced seismicity in St. Gallen can be found here.

Induced Earthquakes SG

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Verlauf

Das Geothermieprojekt in St. Gallen im Jahr 2013 sah vor, in bestehenden Aquiferen in über 4'000 Metern Tiefe natürlich zirkulierendes Wasser für die Stromproduktion zu nutzen. Vergleichbare Projekte im Süden von Deutschland, welche dieselben Gesteinsschichten anbohren, werden erfolgreich betrieben.

Optimale Bedingungen für hydrothermale Systeme bieten bereits existierende Störungszonen im Untergrund, weil sie eine höhere Durchlässigkeit aufweisen. Mit Hilfe eines seismischen 3D-Modells wurde im Sittertobel eine geeignete Stelle für die Bohrarbeiten ermittelt. Favorisiert wurde eine Störungszone, deren seismisches Potential von den Betreibern und den Sankt Galler Stadtwerken aufgrund der vergangenen seismischen Aktivität als gering eingestuft wurde.

Zur seismischen Überwachung installierte der SED im Vorfeld der Bohrarbeiten ein seismisches Netzwerk mit sieben Stationen, von denen sechs an der Erdoberfläche und eine in einem Bohrloch angebracht wurden.

Die Bohrarbeiten begannen anfangs 2013 und im Sommer desselben Jahres wurden erste Test- und Stimulationsmassnahmen vorgenommen. Die dabei ausgelösten Mikrobeben waren in Anzahl und Stärke so erwartet und für Menschen nicht spürbar. Am Abend des 19. Juli 2013 begann die seismische Aktivität zuzunehmen, die Erdbeben ereigneten sich häufiger und wurden stärker. Das Ampelsystem als zentrales Vorsorgeelement löste nach einem initialen Ereignis mit einer Magnitude von 1.6 einen gelben Alarm aus. Ein solcher sieht einen sofortigen Stopp der Pumparbeiten vor. Weil der Gegendruck aufgrund aufsteigender Gase im Bohrloch aber zu gross war und möglicherweise eine Gefahr für die gesamte Anlage darstellte, wurden die Pumparbeiten weitergeführt. Die Seismizität nahm weiter zu und erreichte ihren Höhepunkt am Morgen des 20. Juli 2013 mit einem spürbaren Beben der Magnitude 3.5. Dies entsprach einer Intensität von IV. Das Beben wurde von der Bevölkerung deutlich wahrgenommen, verglichen mit Basel gingen aber nur sehr wenige Schadensmeldungen ein.

Anschliessend nahm die Bebenaktivität wie erwartet stetig ab, steigerte sich aber im Rahmen der Vorbereitungen zu den Produktionstests ab dem 16. September 2013 erneut. Insgesamt wurden in dieser Periode 232 Mikrobeben registriert, das Stärkste ereignete sich am 2. Oktober 2013 und wies eine Magnitude von 2.0 auf. Mit dem Beginn der Produktionstests am 15. Oktober 2013, bei denen Gas und Wasser aus dem Untergrund gefördert wurden, hat die Erdbebentätigkeit deutlich abgenommen. Der SED verzeichnete seither lediglich vier sehr schwache Ereignisse. Diese Mikrobeben waren möglicherweise Nachbeben des Bebens vom 2. Oktober 2013 und sind daher nicht unbedingt auf den Produktionstest zurückzuführen.

Nach heutigem Stand der Erkenntnis stehen die ausgelösten Beben in direktem Zusammenhang mit den Massnahmen, die eingeleitet wurden, um den am 19. Juli 2013 festgestellten Gas-Wasser-Austritt zu bekämpfen. Erhöhte Erdbebenraten treten vor allem beim Einpumpen (Injektion) von Flüssigkeiten in den Untergrund auf, wogegen das Herauspumpen (Produktion) in der Regel die Erdbebenraten verkleinert, sofern es nicht zu einer substantiellen Verfestigung der Sedimente (Kompaktion) kommt. Reagiert die Störungszone zudem sensibel auf Änderungen des Porendrucks, ist dies ein Hinweis, dass die Zone durch tektonische Spannungen kritisch vorgespannt ist und Beben eher zu erwarten sind.

Die Sankt Galler Stadtwerke schlossen die erste Phase ihres Geothermieprojekts im Nachgang an die Produktionstests ab. Im Frühjahr 2014 wurde das Projekt nach weiteren Untersuchungen definitiv beendet. Die St. Galler Stadtwerke begründeten das Projektende mit der "Kombination aus unzureichender Wasserfündigkeit, erhöhtem Erdbebenrisiko sowie einer überraschenden Gasführung in den erschlossenen Gesteinsschichten".

Eine detaillierte Chronologie zur Seismizität im Rahmen des Geothermieprojekts in St. Gallen finden Sie hier.

Informationen zur Echtzeitüberwachung der induzierten Seismizität in St. Gallen finden Sie hier.

Induced Earthquakes SG