MENU
The page content begins here

Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment

The Engineering Seismology group develops the basic tools and techniques used for seismic hazard and risk assessment. These include catalogues of historical and instrumental earthquakes, reliable ground motion mitigation models, high-definition underground models for numerical simulation of earthquakes and the interpretation of historical observations and earthquake recordings at seismic stations. Engineering seismologists produce local seismic hazard maps (microzonation) and link the results to data on building vulnerability so that dependable risk assessments can be carried out.

To develop these tools and techniques, the Earthquake Hazard and Risk Assessment section is divided into four research groups that focus on specific domains, but often also study shared topics of interest. The section is headed by Professor Donat Fäh.

The Strong Ground Motion Seismology and Site Effects research group develops new tools and techniques for improving seismic hazard analysis in Switzerland. Part of its work involves upgrading and expanding the strong motion network through to 2019. Geophysical and geotechnical measurements are taken to determine the properties of the local geological underground at each station, enabling us to interpret any features captured on earthquake recordings. To this end, we have developed special measurement procedures, some of which are based on analysing seismic noise.

The Numerical Earthquake Ground Motion Modelling research group works on methods for numerically simulating the impact of earthquakes. Earthquakes are modelled when there are no instrumental recordings, i.e. particularly for large, damaging earthquakes and sites close to seismic sources. One way of doing this is to calibrate site-specific ground motion attenuation models. Another is to use deterministic modelling of the rupture process and of wave propagation for scenario earthquakes. However, local geological properties must always be properly factored in. The recordings at seismic stations are used to calibrate the numerical models.

Earthquakes are not the only events that cause damage to buildings and infrastructure: secondary earthquake-induced phenomena can wreak havoc as well, for example through soil liquefaction, landslides and tsunamis on lakes triggered by underwater landslides. This is the focal point of the  Earthquake-Induced Phenomena research group. One aim of our earthquake research is to characterise such phenomena with a view to seismic hazard analysis and the recognition of early indications of mass wasting (ground movements) based on giveaway seismic signals. Other phenomena to watch for are short-term foreshocks prompted by processes in the earth's crust, which can produce characteristic electromagnetic and geochemical signals.

The Historical Seismology and Palaeoseismology research group analyses earthquakes predating the establishment of the modern seismic network in the mid-1970s. Data on earlier earthquakes provide important information for anticipatory mitigation measures and enable us to pinpoint where events occurred and estimate their magnitude. Damaging powerful earthquakes are relatively rare in Switzerland, so no instrumental data on them are available yet. Consequently, we have to draw on chronicles from the past, analyse this information using historical methods, and use palaeoseismological methods to interpret geological traces of major earthquakes.

MENU
Der Seiteninhalt beginnt hier

Erdbebengefährdung und Risikobewertung

Die Grundlagen zur seismischen Gefährdungs- und Risikoanalyse werden im Fachbereich Ingenieurseismologie erarbeitet. Diese Grundlagen beinhalten Erdbebenkataloge für historische und instrumentelle Erdbeben, zuverlässige Bodenbewegungs-Abminderungsmodelle, hochauflösende Untergrundmodelle für die numerische Simulation von Erdbeben sowie die Interpretation historischer Beobachtungen und der Erdbebenaufzeichnungen an den seismischen Stationen. Die Ingenieurseismologie erarbeitet lokale Gefährdungskarten (Mikrozonierungen) und verknüpft die Ergebnisse mit Daten zur Gebäudeverletzbarkeit, um zuverlässige Risikostudien durchführen zu können.

Um die Grundlagen zu erarbeiten, ist die Sektion Erdbebengefährdung und Risikoanalyse in vier Forschungsgruppen unterteilt, die zum Teil eigenständige aber oftmals auch gruppenübergreifende Fragestellungen bearbeiten. Leiter der Sektion ist Prof. Dr. Donat Fäh.

Der Forschungsbereich „Starkbebenseismologie und Standorteinflüsse“ erarbeitet neue Grundlagen, um die seismische Gefährdungsanalyse in der Schweiz zu verbessern. Teil dieser Aufgabe ist die Erneuerung und Erweiterung des Starkbebenmessnetzes bis 2019. Mittels geophysikalischer und geotechnischer Messungen werden die Eigenschaften des lokalen Untergrundes jeder Station bestimmt, was es uns erlaubt, die beobachteten Erdbebenaufzeichnungen zu interpretieren. Für diese Messungen wurden spezielle Verfahren entwickelt, u.a. basierend auf der Analyse der seismischen Bodenunruhe.

Die Forschungsbereich „Numerische Modellierung der Erdbeben-Bodenbewegung“ arbeitet an Methoden um die Wirkung von Erdbeben numerisch zu simulieren. Modellierungen von Erdbeben werden dort eingesetzt, wo Registrierungen fehlen, d. h. insbesondere für grosse Schadensbeben und für Standorte im Nahfeld seismischer Quellen. Hierfür können einerseits standortspezifische Bodenbewegungs-Abminderungsmodelle kalibriert werden. Andererseits können auch deterministische Modellierungen des Bruchvorgangs und der Wellenausbreitung für Szenario-Erdbeben verwendet werden. Unablässig hierfür ist eine genaue Einbeziehung der lokalen geologischen Eigenschaften. Die Aufzeichnungen an den seismischen Stationen werden verwendet, um die numerischen Modelle zu kalibrieren.

Nicht nur Erdbeben haben schadhafte Auswirkungen auf Gebäude und Infrastruktureinrichtungen, sondern diese können auch durch sekundäre erdbebeninduzierte Phänomene verursacht werden wie z. B. durch Bodenverflüssigung, Hangrutsche sowie durch Tsunamis in Seen aufgrund von unterseeischen Rutschungen. Dies ist der Schwerpunkt der Forschungsgruppe „Erdbebeninduzierte Phänomene“. Ein Ziel besteht in der Charakterisierung solcher Phänomene für die seismische Gefährdungsanalyse sowie die frühzeitige Erkennung von Massenbewegungen aufgrund typischer seismischer Signale. Ein weiterer Aspekt bilden kurzfristige Erdbebenvorläufer, die durch Prozesse in der Erdkruste entstehen und elektromagnetische und geochemische Signale erzeugen können.

Die Forschungsgruppe „Historische Seismologie und Paläoseismologie“ analysiert Erdbeben aus der Zeit vor der Inbetriebnahme des modernen seismischen Netzwerks Mitte der 1970er Jahre. Die Erkenntnisse über frühere Erdbeben liefern wichtige Hinweise für die Erdbebenvorsorge und ermöglichen uns, die Beben zu lokalisieren und ihre Stärke abzuschätzen. In der Schweiz treten starke Schadensbeben relativ selten auf, daher sind instrumentelle Daten für Starkbeben noch nicht verfügbar. Wir müssen deshalb auf historische Dokumente zurückgreifen und mit geschichtswissenschaftlichen Methoden analysieren sowie mit paläoseismologischen Methoden die geologischen Spuren grosser Erdbeben interpretieren.